How do i get my macbook to do this??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Winter Charm, Oct 4, 2008.

  1. Winter Charm macrumors 6502a

    Winter Charm

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #1
    I was watching this guy's youtube video on what bootcamp does, and i saw that he had a password prompt that came up on the screen BEFORE he got to the part about "clicking your OS" .

    here's a video link if you dont know exactly what i mean:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zCV3_Tz6gSg

    -PS: you just have to watch the video until about 15 seconds into the clip!

    so, lemme get to the point-- HOW do you get your mac to do that??? (keep in mind i just made the switch and i'm an OS X Noob.

    Thanks for the help, Mac Forums!
     
  2. Winter Charm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Winter Charm

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #3
  3. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    I'm glad. :)

    ...Just remember that some features are disabled with the firmware password (as documented in that article). If you ever need to troubleshoot an issue, you may need to temporarily disable to password.
     
  4. elppa macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    #5
    Also, by changing the memory configuration and resetting the P-RAM you can bypass the firmware password. It is a good step, but it is certainly not infallible.
     
  5. Winter Charm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Winter Charm

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #6
    Okay... i'll keep that in mind :D but i guess its a good idea to have an extra password :D i'm soo glad i made the switch to Mac. :D

    I'm also hoping to buy the new macbooks when they come out!

    again, thanks for all the help. People on this forum are sooo nice :cool:
     

Share This Page