How do I get out of a frozen application?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by MythicFrost, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Sometimes in OSX like just a minute ago when I clicked Exit on the Horde of Orcs game it froze, I couldn't do anything, I think I tried Cmd+Alt+ESC to bring up the Force Quit dialog but nothing happened (I did try Cmd+Tab, eject, and I think Expose, Spaces and the volume buttons and none of them did anything I don't think)
    Was it just the game that froze or was the entire computer frozen, I had to turn the computer off via the power button.
     
  2. XheartcoreboyX macrumors 6502a

    XheartcoreboyX

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #2
    You could force quit using:

    ctrl+click/right click on frozen app in the dock > press options/alt > force quit

    else, the machine just crashed for a reason.
     
  3. MythicFrost thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Unfortunately that won't work, it's a full screen game.
    I hear the sound from the game playing, but the animations froze, I don't know why that would happen? is it the game or the OS or the hardware that's causing this to happen? all I did was click Exit.
     
  4. *LTD* macrumors G4

    *LTD*

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Try connecting your iPod or iPhone. That might interrupt the game.

    But first:

    Or try hitting Command-Escape.

    Or Option-Command-Escape.
     
  5. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #5
    Nope, you didn't. There's no Alt key on a Mac keyboard. If you have a third party keyboard, as I do, the Cmd and Alt key is one and the same.
     
  6. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #6
    yes there is an alt key on a mac, it in the top right corner of the option button, so ctrl alt del on a mac is cmd opt esc
     
  7. MythicFrost thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    I think I tried both of those commands, I'll try connecting my iPod next time.
    Yes actually there is, it's the option key, mine says option at the bottom of the button and alt at the top left corner of the button in a smaller font.
    Thanks for your replies everyone, I think I even tried the volume buttons and they didn't work.
     
  8. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #8
    Last time COD 4 froze on my MBP, I had to resort to a hard shutdown. Press and hold the power button. Even the worst fullscreen game hang can't overcome a sudden loss of power. :p
     
  9. MythicFrost thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    Yep that's why I did :p
    I wonder though, is it the game that is frozen or my computer?
    If it is the former then shouldn't there be an easy way to exit out of it than doing a hard shutdown, I'd have been FURIOUS if I had my VMs running, I don't think they can be shutdown like that - I think it can damage them.
    If it's the latter, WHY! lol my computer shouldn't be freezing :eek:.
     
  10. galika1080 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    #10
    The best way to do this is to use your handy little Cmd+alt/opt+escape, BUT, since you're in a fullscreen game, you can't see the menu, so just hit the Enter key twice. It will cause the unseen menu to select the current app the first time you press Enter, then the second time will chose the default choice on the confirmation menu: Force Quit. In other words, do Command+alt/option+escape, the press the enter key twice. If this does not work, sorry, but you might just have to keep doing hard shutdowns.
     
  11. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
  12. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #12
    When nothing else seems to be working -- holding down the power-on button (four seconds or a bit longer, I believe), should work. If even that won't work, pull the power cord (if there is one to pull).

    Of course, you'll have to reboot afterwards...
     

Share This Page