how do i get rid of widgets?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by cmm, Oct 21, 2007.

  1. cmm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan & Zürich
    #1
    I want to get rid of widgets because my machine is old (p4 pb 867mhz, 768mb, etc) and I know widgets take up a considerable amount of resources. So how do I get them from out of the background? They are all useless to me.

    Also, is there anything else I can do to free up resources?
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    To close widgets, when you're in Dashboard, hit the "plus sign" in the bottom left corner, then hit the "X" on the widget(s) you want to close.
     
  3. Kodex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    #3
    Getting rid of them is unsafe for your system. But if they are not activated then they are not taking up any room. Disable all the hotkeys and hot corners for them and you will be fine
     
  4. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #4
    Widgets only take up resources if they are running open in dashboard.If they aren't open in dashboard the only thing they take up is HD space. Which is minimal.
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    RAM is persistent, CPU time depends on the widget.

    My favorite waste of space.
     
  6. cmm thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Location:
    Manhattan & Zürich
    #6
    So is x'ing out of them a bad thing? Will it have any effects?
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    Closing a widget on the Dashboard only ceases the instance of it on the Dashboard.
     
  8. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #8
    No, its not a bad thing...
     
  9. Kodex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    #9
    Xing out of them is fine, deleting the widget resources and frameworks from your system would be bad however.
     
  10. mashinhead macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #10
    i do that, why is it bad?
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    I wouldn't delete anything from /Library or /System unless you know you installed it there.
     
  12. mashinhead macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #12
    what about if it's from the user library, not the system library. there are two widgets folders one for the system and one for the user. i delete them from the user/library/widgets.
     
  13. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #13
    It doesn't matter if it's ~/Library.
     
  14. psingh01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #14
    there is nothing bad about deleting a widget file other than you are deleting it and can't get it back if you want to (unless you backup somewhere else of course).

    it's not like widgets are core OS files....
     
  15. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #15
    just type "kill all Dock" in terminal to stop all dashboard resources. this relaunches the dock and as a consequence kills all dashboard widgets as dashboard is tied to the dock. if you never open dashboard again its widgets will never be opened which is turn saves resources.
    to test this out load all your widgets and check out activity monitor. you'll see lots of widgets with client on the end taking up ram. relaunch the dock and the widgets disappear from activity monitor. this effectively removes dashboard without hurting your system.
     
  16. DanB91 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #16
    wtf? why is everyone saying deleting widgets is a bad thing? go to manage widgets and hit the - button to delete it. its there for a reason. its not there to mess up ur computer.....
     

Share This Page