How do I identify the correct processor?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Bare-E Raws, Dec 9, 2011.

  1. Bare-E Raws macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    #1
    howdy folks I'm in a bit of a pickle which may be a simple fix. I'm trying to buy the i7 processor for my Macbook Pro 13" Unibody and I can't figure out how to identify which i7 will fit it. Does anyone know how to identify the correct model and what the name of it is that will fit my computer?
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    You can't buy a new processor. They are soldered to the mainboard.
     
  3. mobilehaathi macrumors G3

    mobilehaathi

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Anthropocene
    #3
    I suppose he could theoretically do it if he did some hardcore hardware hacking...
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Like completely redesigning the internal components?
     
  5. mobilehaathi macrumors G3

    mobilehaathi

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Anthropocene
    #5
    You have to admit, that would be pretty hardcore.....:cool:
     
  6. Bare-E Raws thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    #6
    So Basically what your saying is I should A. get a new mother board or B. Get a new computer? Hmmm how much would a mother board run me with the i7?
     
  7. ET3SW macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #7
    According to ifixit they are $649. I really do not think it will fit though. You would definitely need to modify the case.
     
  8. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #8
    How old is your computer? Second question would be why do you care about the i7 vs i5? They're both dual core in the 13".
     
  9. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    All the OP needs is to reflow his existing CPU, apply a new CPU that uses the same BGA array. No need to redesign anything. So theoretically he could also put in a faster CPU, but realistically it's not possible due to the average consumer's ability to buy single unit BGA processors.
     
  10. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #10
    buy a new computer. Laptops can't be updated!
     
  11. Bare-E Raws thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    #11
    Ya I'll buy a new computer if it comes down to it. I still have 50% Cpu usage most of the time anyways. Thanks for the info fellas!
     

Share This Page