How do I install The Orange Box onto my Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by AnimaLeo, May 16, 2011.

  1. AnimaLeo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    #1
    Okay, so I just bought The Orange Box but I've got no idea how to install it. When I insert the disk it recognises it, but wont run the installer. Downloading it isn't an option, I only have a small limit of downloads per month, also my internet is slow.

    Would it be possible to install it on my windows machine then transfer the files over via an external hard drive?
     
  2. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    The disc is Windows only. You would need to install it in Windows and copy over most of the files, the source files like models.gcf etc. Not all files could be copied though, as there are a few Mac specific ones. And then there are updates. Team Fortress 2 has multiple gigs of updates, and the rest probably have hundreds of megs, maybe close to a gig. So even if you install them you will have to update them.
     
  3. tsugaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #3
    Probably easier for you to install Steam (as is required,) and in Steam, go Add Game via serial number (or whatever the function is called, something like that) and type in the serial number you got with your copy of The Orange Box. It'll download the game, and then away you go.

    Hope your internet is fast. Team Fortress 2 is like 5-6GB.
     
  4. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    He can't download it unfortunately, so I think he'll be pretty stuck with the patches.
     
  5. tsugaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #5
    Didn't see the internet thing. My bad.

    Easiest and quickest: find a friend who has The Orange Box installed on their Mac. Bring a big USB key/drive and do a Backup/Restore.

    Heck Leo, give me like $2 and I'll send you a DVD or two of The Orange Box from a Steam Backup/Restore. Saves your bandwidth at least, even if you have to wait.
     
  6. Hibernia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    #6
    Silly question time. Just bought my first Mac and have a Steam account from my PC with Orange box and other bits and bobs on it.

    Do i have to repurchase the Mac version of Orange Box to get Team Fortress 2 and DoD to work?

    If so and i get round to putting bootcamp on would i be best to use that for Steam? , trying to work out how much giggage to assisgn to Bootcamp.

    Installing Steam on Mac is on my to do list but not priority just now.

    Cheers
     
  7. SlickShoes macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #7
    If you already own it on steam then when you log in to steam on the mac you will just have the option to install any game that you own that works on the mac OS.
     
  8. AnimaLeo thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    #8
    How about installing Bootcamp and running it on Windows? Is this a good option, or will it just be really laggy?
     
  9. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
  10. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    Yes, it'll run, but did you read my thing about the patches? In 2008 TF2 was about 1.83 gigs in size (going by torrents), it is now about 8 gigs. TF2 has had SO much content added to it, it pretty much isn't the same game it was on release. You MUST download all these patches to play, so be wary of that.
     

Share This Page