How do I know if I can Add 2nd CPU

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ragu, Oct 31, 2011.

  1. ragu macrumors member

    ragu

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    #1
    I have MP 2.8 Quad and I have read that some have 2 CPU's are they all the same logic boards or do some only take single CPU's because if I can I would like 2nd. CPU for a faster MP is it worth spending the money on upgrade :confused:
     
  2. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    You cannot add a new dual logic board to your mac pro from what i've heard. You can only go up to a single 3.46 ghz 6 core processor.
     
  3. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #3
    OP, sure you can. All BTO 3,1s have dual socket logic boards. But you'd need a second heatsink, because there's only a terminator in lower CPU socket.

    For further info search the forum, there were few threads about such an upgrade (succesful ofc). You need Xeon E5462 with SLANT stepping. SLBBN won't work.
     
  4. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #4
    If it's 2008 you can add a second CPU. Otherwise, not without a lot of pain and suffering.
     
  5. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #5
    You can add one. You need the E5462 and the heatsink. Should run you around $150-$180.
     
  6. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
    Given the additional information in the signature, it appears he has a 2008 with a single CPU installed. So adding a second CPU is possible. :)

    But as mentioned, there are a few things to remember:
    1. CPU's need to match (both would need to be E5462's if the OP means to continue using the currently installed CPU).
    2. Steppings must be C0, which are designated by the 5 letter code. In the case of the E5462, that code is SLANT. Anything that goes SLBxx won't (E0 stepped, which the firmware won't recognize = will not work).
    3. Need to get an Apple heatsink assembly.
     

Share This Page