How do I know which router I am using on this set up.

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by sandman512, Jan 3, 2016.

  1. sandman512 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #1
    So, I have this current setup. I have an Airport Extreme with an Express has an extender. When I go to each of the routers under edit, I can see what is "connected". Is there a way to connect to one over the other? If so, how can that be done? Thanks!
    upload_2016-1-3_17-35-33.png
     
  2. LiveM macrumors 6502a

    LiveM

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #2
    Go to your Wi-Fi settings and select the router you prefer.
     
  3. sandman512 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #3
    Thanks for the reply, here is the dilemma. Only one shows up, Sandys Network(Airport Extreme).
     
  4. Swiss-G, Jan 3, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2016

    Swiss-G macrumors 6502a

    Swiss-G

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    Is the Airport Express in Client Mode?
     
  5. sandman512 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #5
    Thanks for the reply: I cannot change anything on this screen.
    upload_2016-1-3_18-9-47.png
     
  6. Swiss-G macrumors 6502a

    Swiss-G

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    That screen just allows you to use the Airport for DHCP.

    The Network Mode under the Wireless tab should be set to Extend a Wireless Network. Can you confirm?

    Can you also confirm which generation of Airport Express you are using?
     
  7. sandman512 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #7
    How do I find the generation of the Express?
    upload_2016-1-3_18-34-56.png
     
  8. Swiss-G macrumors 6502a

    Swiss-G

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    1st Gen

    [​IMG]

    2nd Gen

    [​IMG]

    Is anything connect to the WAN/LAN Port of the Express?
     
  9. sandman512, Jan 3, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2016

    sandman512 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #9


    1st. Generation, nothing connected to the WAN/LAN
     
  10. Swiss-G macrumors 6502a

    Swiss-G

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    The Wireless Network Name and Wireless Password should be the same for both the Airport Extreme and Airport Express. Configured under the Wireless Tab.
     
  11. sandman512 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #11
    Ok, checked and those are all good.
     

Share This Page