How do I make a Window ALWAYS open in a specific size?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by Brian Mage, Aug 1, 2012.

  1. Brian Mage macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #1
    Hello
    Very new to OS X and still finding way around it. Like most things its the very simple stuff that throws us newbies.

    My issue at the moment is whenever i open a new window (i.e. finder window) it opens centralised on the desktop at about 25% of the screen size (ie lots and lots of desktop visible). Now i'm looking for particular files etc this is too small, so the first thing i have to do, is grab the top corner and stretch, grab the bottom corner and stretch etc etc. Its not a big problem, its just bloody annoying. Is there a way to sort this? Under Windows it always just remembered the position/size and that was good enough for me.

    Sorry that this is such a basic question, but it is quite a hard one to google.
     
  2. LxHunter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    #2
    On my iMac the windows reopen at the last size used.
    Not sure why you are having this issue?

    And, not really an answer to your question, but I use a tool called Moom.
    Can use keyboard shortcuts to resize windows.
    I also use their tool called Witch - a kind of old Expose replacement.

    http://manytricks.com/moom/
     
  3. Vito Botta macrumors newbie

    Vito Botta

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Location:
    Espoo, Finland
    #3
    Have you tried Stay (http://cordlessdog.com/stay/) yet?
    It stores Windows etc so you can restore them as they were - also works with dual screens etc.
     
  4. sjtidy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    #4
    I think the Finder remembers the size of the first window that opens. So if you open a window and resize it, it should remain that size whenever it opens.

    Seems like it only works for the first window though - mine defaults to my home folder, so if I resize that it remembers the setting. It works when I open the hard drive windows too.
     
  5. Brian Mage thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #5
    Thanks for the answers guys.
    It's pretty weird then, by thr sounds of it.

    I really don't want to install an App just to sort it as i'm running a 256 AIR and need to keep it clean for longevity.

    All i want is that whenever i open a window (finder/Mac disk/et al) that it is size i want (in my cae about 90% of the screen, i.e. gives me a little room either side for movement but not a tiny window in the middle which is useless for browsing.

    I've gone from a CTO with Lion to an upgrade of ML in the first few days of having this MBA
     
  6. matrix07 macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #6
    My Finder window open to the last position every time. I'm still on Lion btw.
     
  7. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #7
    That's why you are in the Mountain Lion forums? Am I missing something?
     
  8. matrix07 macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #8
    I'm here because I want to prepare myself before upgrade. People on Lion can not come in here?
     
  9. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #9
    Then if you are upgrading then do two simple networking things.

    1. Open system Preferences->Network and at the top of the Network pane will be the 'Location' drop-down. Use that to 'Edit Locations' and that will bring a pop-up and here click the + button to add a custom named Location (Don't worry this will act actually the same as the 'Automatic' Location). Then click the 'Done' button. Then at the bottom of the pane make sure you ultimately click the 'Apply' button to completely save your new Location.

    2. Make sure you wireless network has the latest "firmware' installed.

    Also make sure all you applications are up to date and are compatible with 10.8.0 Mountain Lion.
     
  10. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #10
    Well... okay, but just for today. :D
     
  11. stuartrozier macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    #11
    Mavericks - same issue

    again im a newbie -

    and after reading everyone's posts, finder does remember size an position yes.

    but with other apps like terminal, mail, photos, iTunes ... it never does ?

    it seems on finder will remember the position and size, but no others will ?
     
  12. ricede macrumors regular

    ricede

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #12
    On Macs - if you want a window size remembered ( terminal, mail, photos, iTunes ) open the app - resize the window. Then close the app. On reopening - the window should be in the last position.

    ( Not sure if the closing/reopening routine is necessary but it works for me ;) )
     
  13. stuartrozier macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    #13
    weeks later i reply, haha apologies -

    so tonight, i opened an image, it opened in the 'preview' app on the left hand side of the screen ...

    i brought it to the centre ... resized it smaller ....

    when to the top of the screen, click 'preview' then 'exit/quit' ...

    reopened the same image ...

    and was back over to the left again, same position, same size :/
     
  14. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #14
    Hi,

    go to System Preferences / General, uncheck : "Close windows when quitting an application".

    Now test opening a picture in Preview, quitting Preview, then reopening the same image.

    :)
     
  15. stuartrozier macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    #15
    so far so good, thank you ...

    but, what does this mean to other programs, meaning ... will they always stay open now, ? will they never close upon exit ?
     
  16. m3lettings macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    #16
    Hi Brian,
    Did you ever get a solution for this please?
    Regards Michael.
     
  17. Vinitoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    #17
    I have the same problem on 2 different macs but both running Sierra. It seems to happen mostly when I used Photoshop on either machine. It's very irritating to have to re-size the folder each time I'm looking for a file. Help, please1
    Vini
     
  18. Sherryladart macrumors newbie

    Sherryladart

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    #18
    --- Post Merged, Aug 30, 2017 ---
    Did you find an answer about how to make pages open full screen all the time? I, too, am new to the Mac system and still haven't been able to find out how to do it. Sherry
    --- Post Merged, Aug 30, 2017 ---
    What is Finder?
     
  19. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #19

Share This Page