How do I make my taskbar look translucent in Leopard?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by TheScavenger, Dec 5, 2007.

  1. TheScavenger macrumors 6502

    TheScavenger

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    #1
    My girlfriend just bought a new MacBook with Leopard. Her taskbar is translucent. How do I change the taskbar on my PowerBook with Leopard to look transparent?

    Thanks, Josh
     
  2. overanalyzer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MA USA
    #2
    I don't think you can. If you look through the forums you'll see people saying it's dependent on the video card and I don't think the PowerBooks are capable of the transparency effect.
     
  3. ryanmcd02 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #3
    According to apple you cannot. I have the same power book, with a Go Force 5200 video card, which apple lists as one that won't.

    I hope they change this at some point, because it obviously could be feasible if the powerbook can run the new dock.
     
  4. TheScavenger thread starter macrumors 6502

    TheScavenger

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    #4
    All of the drop-down menus from the taskbar are translucent as well as the backgrounds for stacks open via the dock. I don's see how this isn't possible.
     
  5. ryanmcd02 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #5
    It has something to do with Core Image being used vs Quartz. I am with you, it should obviously be possible. I would like it to be updated into leopard for our video cards rather than have to get a 3rd party app.
     
  6. zakatov macrumors 6502a

    zakatov

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    South Florida
  7. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #7
    From what I understand, the menu bar uses not only the translucent effect (which it can do) but also a shader effect to make it look some what rounded. That's the call that the video card doesn't have.

    Why make it solid instead of just a flat translucent bar, where most people wouldn't even notice the difference anyway? Got me. I think that was a bad call on Apple's part.
     
  8. adamtcr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Nederland
    #8
    The Transparency effect as well as the swirling gasses/flying stars effect from Time Machine will not work on any PowerPC based Mac, only the Intel based Macs support Leopards core animations and effects :apple:

    I know it sucks...one of my main computers is a PowerMac G4 while my mobile is a MacBook with full support for Leopard.
     

Share This Page