Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Aayush

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 8, 2008
Siliguri, W.B., India
Hello.

I’m a beginner at programming for Apple’s platforms and have only recently managed to wrap my head around table views and view controllers on the iPhone.

I’m trying to make a replica of the Contacts application (for practice) and am stuck at the point where you are required to enter your first, last and company names into three table cells. How do I make those table cells disallow selection and accept keyboard input?

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Aayush

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 8, 2008
Siliguri, W.B., India
Thanks for the replies.

It’s a default tableview that is controlled by a UITableViewController subclass. I know how to set the text for any of the cells:

Code:
cell.textLabel.text = @"Text goes here";

But how do I allow the user to enter text there? You guys say that those cells contains text fields. How do I allow the user to edit them? Anywhere the word “edit” is mentioned in connection with the table view in the documentation, it only talks about deletion, insertion and reordering of rows (all of which I’m able to implement without any issues).

PhoneyDeveloper

macrumors 68040
Sep 2, 2008
A standard table with standard cells doesn't have the ability for users to edit the text in the cells. Yes, you can add, remove, and reorder the cells. If you want the user to be able to edit the text in a cell then you need to add a textfield or textview to the cell.

You need to build custom cells.

Aayush

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 8, 2008
Siliguri, W.B., India
Ah, so that’s what I was missing. I’ve spent the past two days going through various pages of the documentation trying to figure it out. Even the Table View programming guide does not mention this. Thank you so much! :)