How do i multitask

Discussion in 'iPad' started by max2, Sep 29, 2017.

  1. max2 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    #1
    If I turn off the most recent used apps on my bar how do I launch a second app to fill half my iPad Pro screen if its not on my bar ?
     
  2. Pete Rodgers macrumors member

    Pete Rodgers

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Location:
    Bethesda, Uk
    #2
    I don't think you can. I've dragged a few of my most used apps onto the dock and turned the recently used apps thing back on again. It can make your dock ridiculously small though. I was initially confused by the fact that the dock is different from the Mac OS version, in that it doesn't just contain a shortcut but the app itself. I managed to delete an app by removing it from the dock!! I'm sure we'll get used to it in time.
     
  3. max2 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    #3
    That sucks.
     
  4. Cascades42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I use spotlight to find an app and then drag it to the other half of my screen or slide over - but you need an external keyboard to trigger it easily (CMD+Space)
     
  5. radioking macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    #5
    Yes you can. Get the app you want to open on the side in “drag mode”, then select the main app you want with another finger. The app selected will open and the app in drag mode will stay that way, allowing you to place it wherever you want.
     
  6. ejin222 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #6
    I don't think that's what the OP is saying.

    To the OP: Multitasking is not a perfect system yet, so the best thing is to open a non-docked app first, then slide in the docked app. If both apps are not in your dock, then you have to use Spotlight. Not sure if there's another way...
     
  7. Pete Rodgers macrumors member

    Pete Rodgers

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Location:
    Bethesda, Uk
    #7
    You can also do this: If you already have two apps up together, you go into the desktop, select the app you want to replace one of those apps with, drag up from the bottom whilst still holding that app and drag the app over the thumbnail of the two slide over apps. It will open and allow you to replace one app with the app you have selected. Thanks to MacWorld for that!! It’s stupidly complicated and unintuitive but it is a way round it.
     

Share This Page

6 September 29, 2017