How do I power my USB 3.0 card?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by RoastingPig, Jul 9, 2013.

  1. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #1
    just got the fresco based orico pfu3 and im wondering what cables i m gonna need to power this thing from the dvd? it has a molex male on it. any links or direction would be very helpful:)

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #2
    You may be needing this cable adaptor [​IMG]

    You can also check this MRumors thread on USB 3.0 which discussed the power supply http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1501482&page=10

    In my case I am using the Caldigit USB 3.00 with 2 eSATA ports on my Mac Pro. Works fine. It has it's own power supply but its more expensive was the trade off.
     
  3. texem macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    #3
    Did you try it without extra powering ?

    The layout (wiring) of the card on the picture shows a connection to the 12 Volt to the PCI-e . In case it's identical to your model it should work w/o Molex.
     
  4. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4
    I'm not using that card, I have an older PCIe 4 port USB 2.0 card. I don't remember the brand, I've had it for quite awhile and i've used it on three different Macs. It also has a molex power port and I've never applied power to it. It is my belief that if the device plugged into the card is powered independently (like a hard drive you don't have to power the card. Non powered devices (example, keyboards) may not work and should be plugged into the Mac's USB Port. My card is host to three devices, a Microtek Scanner, a USB HDD, and the USB port of a big APC Battery BackUp. All devices are recognized and work perfectly.

    Lou
     
  5. RoastingPig thread starter macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #5
    I just tried to install without molex power and nothing...so i went down to frys this morning and bought a sata to molex, then a molex extension. Bad thing was i had the dissasemble the molex head on the sata to molex adapter and thread the 4 wires through the little crevice in the bottom left of the cd housing. I used 2 eyelash tweezers; one to push through and one to pull, after that put the molex head back on plugged in the extension and bada bing all done.
     
  6. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #6
    I came to this thread to warn you about that. So did it work?
     
  7. RoastingPig thread starter macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #7
    Yup. im doing a time machine backup rite now on some good ol 3.0
     

Share This Page