How do I push contacts from iphone to MobileMe?

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by dabigone, Jul 15, 2008.

  1. dabigone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #1
    I can't figure out how I get the contacts on my iphone onto the mobile me webpage?
     
  2. moseleyite macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    #2
    How is your iphone set up?

    I think that Settings ---> Fetch New Data ---> Push needs switching on

    Now go to

    I think that Settings ---> Mail, Contacts, Calendar

    and tap on your account. Now set mail, contacts, calendars and bookmarks to 'on'.

    does this help?
     
  3. dabigone thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #3
    Thanks I tried that before but it says that existing contacts on my iphone would be lost. Since I don't have anything on my mobileme account, that's not what I want to do...or is it?
     
  4. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #4
    Sync your phone with your computer. Then use the computer to populate MobileMe. Then get the contacts from your computer to phone. I believe that is what Apple's instructions had me do.
     
  5. andyhofer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #5
    Surely that can't be right, if you add or delete a contact on your iPhone surely it must then push to mobile me to update it.

    I've been adding contacts but they don't appear to push to mobile me straight away either, am I missing something or am I being impatient.
     
  6. NJPitcher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    #6
    No, you're not missing anything if push is turned on in your phone. If it is, then you're merely experiencing what most people are experiencing - mobileme isn't working right yet.
     
  7. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #7
    I just added a contact to my iPhone. I then checked MM web page but was not sure how to do a refresh so I closed the browser and restarted and the Contact was there.

    One difference is the order in which you started doing this. Sounds like you added a contact to the iPhone first "before" setting up MM. In my case I was using Yahoo Address Book with iTunes Sync to my iPhone. I could not initialize MM from my iPhone. I had to Sync MM from Yahoo first and then I started the Sync to my iPhone and it said it was going to replace my iPhone with Contacts from MM. If you started with NO CONTACTS anywhere, maybe you should have initialized MM first and then you would not have any problems adding contacts to either side.
     
  8. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #8
    Sorry, I meant:
    Sync your phone with your computer. Then use the computer to populate MobileMe. Then get the contacts from MobileMe to phone.
     
  9. mister2d macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #9
    That doesn't work either.

    I've run into the same problem.

    My contacts are synced with my PC. The moment you turn on MobileMe syncing on the iPhone it warns of deleting your data on the phone. Then, once you dock all those options are greyed out in iTunes. So really I can't find a way to sync my contacts already. I've already lost all calendar appointments and contacts once (but I had a backup for my contacts).

    It just doesn't make any sense. It should not delete anything from the iPhone, period to sync. It doesn't do this for any other sync method.
     
  10. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #10
    Here are the steps again. At exactly which step does the process not work.
    1. Make are all contacts, calendar, etc are on your computer. Are they all there?
    2. Get the contacts from your computer to MobileMe by using the MobileMe Preferences install on your computer. Check Me.com. Is all the information there?
    3. Add the MobileMe account to your iPhone. It will tell you all contacts, etc, will be erased, but this is ok because at this point they should be in MobileMe and will get transferred to your phone.
     
  11. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #11
    I understand your point but that is just the way it works. I guess you could continue to fight it or go with the way Apple designed it to work.

    As far as not doing this for any other sync method. How about with iTunes Sync. I lost my iTunes library (lost my whole computer). But I thought, like you, no problem, the music and pictures are on my iPhone. I assumed that when I re-built my computer and then re-installed iTunes it would re-sync with my iPhone (i.e. upload my music and pictures). NO, it would only download to my iPhone replacing whatever was on my iPhone with whatever was on my computer (just the way MobileMe is working). What I had to do was buy a program that would upload the music and pictures from my iPhone to my computer and then all was well. This is very similiar to the way MobileMe works.
     
  12. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #12
    This is how iPods have always worked. Music is a one way street. Computer to iPod only, not the other way. If you agree with it or not is another issue, but its been this way for years so it should not have been a surprise.
     

Share This Page