How do I put backup from lost phone onto Unlocked phone??

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by DarthVidal, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. DarthVidal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #1
    My iPhone 3G was just stolen while traveling in South America :mad: , and I now need to figure out how to put the backup (from totally legit, not unlocked or jailbroken 3G) onto an unlocked 2G phone replacement without losing the unlocked usability as I have no AT&T SIM card (nor do I want one) but I really need to get all my contacts from the old backup set. If I click restore, will it replace the unlocking that I just paid $100 pesos for?? Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated. I am new to the forum, thanks.
     
  2. iPhone-power macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #2
    Yes, if you restore it, it will put on new firmware.

    If you sync'ed/backed up your contacts, etc thru iTunes, just re-sync with iTunes after your phone is running and activated and your contacts will be put back.
     
  3. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #3
    Right click on the iphone icon in the left-hand side of iTunes, select "restore from backup" on the pop-up menu. Should just copy back the settings and app data from the backup without touching the firmware.
     
  4. DarthVidal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #4
    When I first plugged in the unlocked iPhone, I couldn't understand why the right click didn't give me the restore option, then after syncing it with itunes (not restoring from backup) i was given the option to restore, but only from the backup of this same device, not from my previous iPhone. So it seems i can only sync the phone, but not fully restore the backup without losing the unlock?? So there is absolutely no way to put back all the notes and apps etc. without losing Cydia and the unlock?? Why does Apple make it so damn difficult to put info onto another phone... thanks for the help
     
  5. iPhone-power macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #5
    Perhaps if you give the phone the same name as the old one.
     

Share This Page