how do I rearrange this

Discussion in 'macOS' started by AeroBar, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. AeroBar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    A few weeks ago I had a problem in disk utility when I run verify disk on the Mac's hard drive, I got this:-

    Verifying volume “Macintosh HD”
    Checking HFS Plus volume.
    Checking Extents Overflow file.
    Checking Catalog file.
    Checking multi-linked files.
    Checking Catalog hierarchy.
    Checking Extended Attributes file.
    Checking volume bitmap.
    Volume Bit Map needs minor repair
    Checking volume information.
    Invalid volume free block count
    (It should be 6622312 instead of 6619597)
    Volume Header needs minor repair
    The volume Macintosh HD needs to be repaired.

    Error: The underlying task reported failure on exit
    1 HFS volume checked
    Volume needs repair

    Following the advice of a guy on apple.com disscussion boards I went into safe mode and fixed it.

    All is fine now except a little irratating "cosmetic" problem. On the desktop toolbar the icons for Airport, volume, Bluetooth and the clock, etc. are not in the original order and there is an icon missing. (SEE BELOW)

    I know its a silly thing to fuss over but I want to know how to "fix" it.

    Thanks for looking.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macbookairman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    Go into system prefs, and go to the appropriate panel for each icon. Then disable the icon in those panels. Once thats done, go back through each panel and re-enable the icons in the order you want them to appear.

    For example, to disable the airport icon, go to System Preferences>Network>Show Airport Status in Menu Bar.
     
  3. AeroBar thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
  4. macbookairman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    no problem!
     
  5. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #5
    Way too complicated. ;) Command-drag the icons to rearrange them or remove them.
     
  6. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #6


    Easy way to move items on menu bar: cmd + click...
     
  7. macbookairman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #7
    goodness. how on earth did i not post that?? i totally knew that too lol. that is definitely easier!
     
  8. AeroBar thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #8
    Thanks guys. This was irratating me.

    BTW, the missing icon was a telephone symbol - what is that?
     
  9. macbookairman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #9
    Thats the Modem Status icon.

    (Under System Prefs>Network>Bluetooth)
     
  10. Trip.Tucker Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #10
    Geez, long winded.

    Just Command click and move them directly.
     
  11. macbookairman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #11
    i think we established that already lol.
     
  12. AeroBar thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #12
    I went to sys pref - network and bluetooth is red (configured but not connected. its set up to dial *99#.)

    what does that mean?
     
  13. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #13
    Actually if the missing icon was a telephone (handset) it is the Modem icon, not BlueTooth and will only really apply if you have your Mac hooked up to a telephone line for dial-up internet access or faxing.

    The choice to show the menu bar icon or not is in the Network pane when you click "modem" or "external modem" in the left column. If modem does not show in the column it probably means you do not have one (like most late model Macs), but you can try by clicking the "+" sign at the bottom and see if you can add "modem".
     
  14. macbookairman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #14
    It also shows up under Bluetooth on my mac. (for using my cell phone phones data connection over bluetooth as a modem).
     
  15. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #15
    Sorry- my bad then.:eek: It makes sense though, just have never used my BlueTooth that way.
     

Share This Page