How do I reconnect a login item without rebooting?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by gogreen1, Jun 29, 2019.

  1. gogreen1 macrumors regular

    gogreen1

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    #1
    I've connected an iMac and a MacBook Air on my network. The MacBook Air is a login item on the iMac. I have to start the MacBook Air first before the iMac boots, or else the iMac doesn't see the MacBook Air. If I reboot the MacBook Air, or start it after I start the iMac, I have to reboot the iMac to make the connection again. Is there a way to reconnect the MacBook Air, or any other login item, without rebooting the iMac?
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
  3. chabig macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #3
    What does this mean? Are you disk sharing? If that's it, you ought to be able to mount the network share from Finder at any time.

    Also, you don't have to reboot for 'login' items to work. You only need to login (hence the name).
     
  4. gogreen1 thread starter macrumors regular

    gogreen1

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    #4
    Thanks, chabig and Weaselboy. The Automator is beyond my knowhow, but I'm certainly willing to give it a try and learn. It would save me some time.
     
  5. chown33 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    befuddled
    #5
    The way I used to do this was:
    1. Connect to the server and volume you want mounted.
    2. Make an alias of the mounted volume on the local machine.
    3. Make sure the login password is in the Keychain.
    4. Drag the alias into the "Login Items" list.

    Because I had a half-dozen or so volumes, disk-images, etc. residing on the server, I had a similar number of aliases in a local folder, which I'd cleverly named "Remote". The aliases made it very easy to add or remove from "Login Items" without needing to manually connect.

    I don't use that server any more, so my Remote folder is currently empty.

    The linked article shows the exact Automator actions to use.

    Try the aliases first, as I outlined above. If it works, it should be simpler.
     
  6. gogreen1, Jul 3, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2019

    gogreen1 thread starter macrumors regular

    gogreen1

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    #6
    I've created the automator app, and it seems to be working. However, if it's working correctly, would the drive icon appear again on the desktop, as it does when connecting occurs on log in? and shouldn't it appear in disk utility?
     
  7. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #7
    Server drives do not appear in Disk Utility. Depending on your Finder preferences, they may or may not appear on the desktop.
     
  8. gogreen1 thread starter macrumors regular

    gogreen1

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    #8
    OK, thanks chrfr.

    I've created the automator task, but the instructions call for adding the item to login items, which requires a reboot. I'd like to find a way to reconnect to the laptop without rebooting my iMac. Is there a command or set of commands that forces such a reconnect?
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    If you saved the Automator routine as an app, you can just add that app to login items to run at startup. Then if you need to login again just run the app manually from Spotlight.
     
  10. gogreen1 thread starter macrumors regular

    gogreen1

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    #10
    Works perfectly now! Thanks, all, for the help! :cool:
     

Share This Page

9 June 29, 2019