Resolved How do I remove cydelete?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Barneygumble47, Feb 10, 2013.

  1. Barneygumble47 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    N. Ireland
    #1
    Everytime I try to delete an app store app my phone crashes I know cydelete is causing this but my problem now is how to remove cydelete.

    I've tried CYDIA-MAGANGE-PACKAGES-MODIFY-REMOVE
    but this just throes up errors and causes a respring.

    I have iexplore but cannot find cydelete using that.

    Thanks in addvance.
     
  2. Barneygumble47 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    N. Ireland
  3. Siggen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #3
    Now you are just being selfish!
    The answer to your question is (for all to hear), you can find the package in cydia, under manage, then packages, so you can delete it there.

    Deleting mine now to see if the problem you describe is fixed by that.
    And it did!

    Now you can mark the thread as solved your self.

    Also one can find Cydelete, then select Change Package Settings, and turn on Show All Changes, to follow any updates for it, when this is fixed.
     
  4. Barneygumble47 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    N. Ireland
    #4

    If you re read my original post I said that it would not deltete by doing what you suggested.

    I had to use iexplorer to remove it

    /library/mobilesubstrate/dynamiclibraries
     
  5. Siggen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #5
    No it did not.

    another thing you could also try was this command

    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove net.howett.cydelete
     
  6. Barneygumble47 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    N. Ireland
    #6


    I've tried CYDIA-MAGANGE-PACKAGES-MODIFY-REMOVE
    but this just throes up errors and causes a respring.


    Granted I spelt throws wrong but the rest is correct.

    Where would I enter the code you mention.
     
  7. Adutrumque macrumors 65816

    Adutrumque

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #7
    [​IMG]


    Please remain calm and try to solve it yourself before throwing it out here.
     
  8. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #8
    The problem is solved. Let's try to move on and remain civil.
     
  9. Siggen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #9
    Either via SSH or the MobileTerminal (app found in Cydia)
     
  10. Barneygumble47 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    N. Ireland
    #10


    Thanks I'll bear that in mind for the future.
     
  11. Siggen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #11
    Aptitude is ported from Linux, and was originally made for Debian based Linux variants. Its widely used in different posix compilant enviornments.

    here is a general overview of usage http://linux.die.net/man/8/apt-get
     

Share This Page