How do I rename Time Machine backup folders?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by poiihy, Jan 4, 2015.

  1. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #1
    I have some Time Machine backup folders of my old installations and I need to change the name of them because I want a fresh backup of the new installation. It always says "You have Custom access" no matter what the permissions is set to, and I cannot rename it. Even in root I cannot rename it. How do I rename it? Or more specifically, how do I alter the permissions to allow me to modify it?
     
  2. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #2
    this is something you can't do for a very good reason

    heh
     
  3. poiihy thread starter macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #3
    Then I just have to delete them...
     
  4. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #4
    i tried to import time machine from one computer to the next and it worked

    but it deleted my entire backup chain. and all my backups reset

    if you rename a time machine backup, it might screw up and stop that time machine disk from being usable on that computer

    when you turn on time machine, that specific time machine backup is tied to that particular mac.

    have you tried the faq?? its a good website. it screwed me out of an entire backup chain going back 6 months , but it still good i guess

    http://pondini.org/TM/FAQ.html

    if there is something you need to import from the old time machine, you could run another copy of os x virtually with vmware fusion
     
  5. poiihy thread starter macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #5
    That's the whole point of renaming it. The backups are linked to non-existant installations (old ones) with the same name as my new installations. I don't want to mix old and new backups in the same folders.
     
  6. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #6
    yeah, restoring to a virtual machine would be the best thing to do

    then you can drag the stuff you want to your other machine without messing anything up

    ..

    have you tried holding down the option key and time machine icon and trying to browse other backups for stuff you want
     
  7. poiihy thread starter macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #7
    What are you talking about?!
     
  8. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #8
    download / buy vmware fusion

    make a virtual machine

    tell vmware fusion to use "install os x .app" or the install cd or install usb
    to set up the virtual machine

    once the virtual machine is running, you can connect that to your old time machine and restore everything to the virtual machine, then you can copy whatever you want from the old time machine, without worrying you are going to ruin your new computer

    ----------

    holding down the OPTION key and clicking on "time machine" would also let you browse the old backup for stuff you need without the hassle of restoring everything to a virtual machine
     
  9. poiihy thread starter macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #9
    I still don't know what you are talking about

    I just have some Time Machine backups I want to rename. Otherwise my old installation and new installations will mix in the same folder. If that's not possible while still having it functional, then I'll just delete them...
     
  10. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #10
    i can help you to try and get documents off the old time machine
    and once you get lost stuff off of it, you can erase it


    but renaming it and mixing it up, and putting it on the new hard disk, i dunno about that
     
  11. poiihy thread starter macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #11
    I'm not putting anything on new hard disks and I am not copying anything from any time machines! I had two Macs with Mac OS X, I made Time Machine backups of both as well as manually copied data; then I erased and did fresh install. I only need the Time Machine backup incase something goes wrong, but I already have all the data.
     
  12. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #12
    yeah if theres nothing on that time machine disk, just erase it and start a new time machine

    its not worth trying to copy it to a different hard disk it just asking for trouble
    plus i don't think you can do that anyway

    how time machine works is it wants one partition per time machine per computer ( i think ) heh

    that means one partition - or one section is reserved for time machine and that time machine is reserved for one individual computer

    if you want a hard disk to be able to be used on two computers , then you need a time capsule - apple's wireless router.

    if you want one hard disk to be shared between two computers you need to divide it into partitions, like disk 1 and disk 2

    and one you do that you tell one mac got back up to disk 1 and you tell the other computer to back up to disk 2
     
  13. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #13
    No you can backup more than 1 machine to a TM drive/partition but you will have no control over the relative amount of space each machine uses - if that is important then use a partition per machine, otherwise TM will keep seperate folders for each machine on the one TM drive/partition.
     
  14. poiihy thread starter macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #14
    Now I have another problem related. I copied some stuff from a Time Machine backup and they always say "You have custom access" no matter what permissions is set to. I always have to type in my password to modify them!
     
  15. billyjoe598, Aug 31, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2015

    billyjoe598 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    #15
    To solve your first problem, use terminal to rename your backup folder by typing in sudo mv "VOLUME/backups.backupdb" "VOLUME/NEW NAME" As an interesting experiment, create a new folder in the finder named backups.backupdb and you will find that within finder it cannot be renamed or have its contents edited.

    WARNING: Time Machine likely won't function correctly when the folder is not named backups.backupdb![/QUOTE]
     

Share This Page