How do I rename Windows on Startup boot screen (options)

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by globalmark, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. globalmark macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    #1
    Hi
    I have just replaced my HDD for a larger one and put the old one in the SuperDrive DVD bay (had a smaller one there before also)
    I Cloned both the Mac side and the windows side using CCC and winclone an both seems to be cloned fine , however I do not want to erase(format) the old drive for a few weeks until 100% sure everything is working fine .

    So my Question . As I have 2 HDD installed when I hit options at startup the boot screen appears with 2 Mac Partitions and 2 windows partitions ,
    The Mac ones I just renamed on the mac side, ( 1TB mac and 500GB mac) and on boot screen those names show up .
    but
    The 2 windows bootcamp drives/partitions just are written WINDOWS , so I have no idea which is old one and which is new larger one , I have tried renaming in the same way , on my mac I have them show up on desktop and called Bootcamp 1 and Bootcamp NEW , but on the boot screen they are just called WINDOWS .

    How can I rename one of these so both are not just named windows and have it show up on the boot/option screen ?

    Thanks mark

    Running mountain lion 10.8 and windows XP
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Since Mac OS X does not offer native write capabilities for NTFS formatted volumes, and Windows 7 and 8 do need to format to install onto, you have to boot into one of the two Windows partitions and change the name there.
     
  3. jlpek17 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #3
    In bios mode OSX bootmanager named all NTFS partition "Windows" even if your named it differently in windows. I don't think there is a way to rename.

    In EFI mode the windows partition is named "EFI BOOT" like other EFI media and I'm sure there is a way to rename and even aply a different logo on it ?
     
  4. globalmark thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    #4
    Hi simsaladimbamba

    Thanks for that any idea how to change so changes in the boot screen, as already changed partition name or HDD in windows side but still just says Windows in the boot screen.

    @ Jlpek17 - any idea how to change the name in EFI mode , I have no idea what EFI is so need step by step if possible .

    I am running Windows XP on Bootcamp and clone is the Same obviously..

    Thanks Mark
     
  5. globalmark thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    #5
    Ok

    2nd option , does anyone know how to unmount the drive either both Mac and windows bootcamp , or just the bootcamp drive I have in the optical bay .
    I have tried doing this via Disk utility but on restart appears again, and Same in boot menu it still appears .
    So is there some easy way to unmount the drive I have in optical bay , and remount when I want ? (Short of unplugging it inside the computer) .
    Small app or script ?
    If script can you give me step by step way of unmount and remounting .

    Thanks Mark
     

Share This Page