How do I reset my ram?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by WickedPuddin, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  2. Jrv macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Technically, restarting the computer will reset the RAM, as RAM is volatile memory and cannot store anything once the power supplying it is cut.
     
  4. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #5
    Do you mean, how do I reset my PRAM?


    To reset your computer’s PRAM:
    Shut down the computer.

    Locate the following keys on the keyboard: Command, Option, P, and R. You will need to hold these keys down simultaneously in step 4.

    Turn on the computer.

    Immediately press and hold the Command-Option-P-R keys. You must press this key combination before the gray screen appears.

    Continue holding the keys down until the computer restarts, and you hear the startup sound for the second time.

    Release the keys.

    Resetting PRAM may change some system settings and preferences. Use System Preferences to restore your settings.
     
  5. ndstrenge macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    #6
    How do you restore settings in system preferences?
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    Is this a separate question, or are you trying to help the OP?
     
  7. JD92 macrumors 6502a

    JD92

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    #8
    Unlike computers, animals don't have reset buttons. I'm afraid your Ram is gone forever.
     
  8. Jrv macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
    #9

    I lolled.
     
  9. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    You don't need to. Just let Mac OS X do its job. It manages memory quite well, without you needing to do anything.
     
  10. ndstrenge macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    #11
    Both. Read the post before mine.
     
  11. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #12
    Oh, ok. What that post is saying is that resetting PRAM may change some things back to default, and you'll have to go back into System Pref to change them again.
     
  12. ndstrenge macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    #13
    So... again- How do you restore your settings in System Preferences?
     
  13. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #14
    By changing them back to what they were. There isn't a restore function.
     

Share This Page