How do I run a complex Setup.bat file on my mac?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Icefire817, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. Icefire817 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Location:
    WA
    #1
    Hey guys, I'm new to the forum.
    Anyways, I'm installing a Empire Total War (I know it's a PC game but steam and crossover help a lot) and the only thing i'm having trouble with is this setup.bat file.
    Is there a way to run it without getting another app? Like using applescript?
     
  2. foidulus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #2
    You didn't tell us what you want to accomplish with this, but Windows bat scripts will not work, however BASH scripts(which IMO are infinitely more powerful) will.

    There are a ton of tutorials and BASH scripting so I suggest you get googling then get started. They are a lot of fun to write!
     
  3. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #3
    Ah, you have CrossOver? Then you CAN indeed run Windows .BAT files. The procedure is a bit unintuitive, but once you figure it out it's easy to remember.
    1. Start CrossOver, if it's not already running
    2. Menu Bar -> Programs -> Run Command...
    3. Select the bottle to use - for you this would be the bottle you're installing the game in
    4. Click Browse and find your BAT file
    5. Click Run
     
  4. Blakeasd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    #4
    While the methods described above will work, there is a more simple alternative however it requires some more $. You could install windows using a bootcamp partition or you can purchase vmware or virtual box, a free vmware alternative and install window with that. I have tried running very complicated .bat files on my Mac with no success and I know from experience the best way is to use windows on your Mac.
     
  5. Icefire817, Mar 27, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2011

    Icefire817 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Location:
    WA
    #5
    Thanks a lot guys! I'll try using the crossover method (which I tried previously and it failed for some reason) and get back to you.


    Thanks a ton, It worked perfectly and loaded in all the files I needed :).
    Great advice wrldwzrd89!
     

Share This Page