How do I run windows from my POWERPC mac?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by duranduranie, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. duranduranie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #1
    I want to install Sonyvegas but since I have a PowerPC G4 Mac (Version 10.4.11) I am not sure if its possible, since its only compatible with windows. I did hear of something called GuestPC - if I bought this, would it then be possible to install Sony Vegas? or do you have any other suggestions of how to run windows off my mac? Thanks! any help appreciated.
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    You can use VirtualPC, but it is not available for sale anymore
    You might be able to pick up a copy on eBay or somewhere
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    Sony Vegas will not run under VirtualPC to any extent that will be usable.
     
  4. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #4
    Considering that sony Vegas is professional quality audio/video creation and costs $599, I doubt that any PPC mac could deal with it, even with virtual PC. the overhead for emulation of Intel is huge in itself, and throw video on top of that and it will likely be unusable.

    The emulators have a huge overhead of translating Intel code to PPC code.
     
  5. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #5
    Actually, very few programs were usable under VirtualPC ;)
    It was awful
     
  6. duranduranie thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #6


    I thought VirtualPC only worked with intel based macs?
     
  7. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #7
    VirtualPC only works with PPC
    It is outdated and no longer sold or supported as far as I know

    VirtualBox works with Intel
     
  8. duranduranie thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #8
    I have PowerPC, is there anything that works with that that is available? thanks
     
  9. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #9
    Nothing I am aware of, and certainly nothing that would give you any acceptable performance... period

    Emulation on the PPC was tedious and frustrating at its best
     
  10. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #10
    No.
     
  11. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #11
    You'd be better finding native PowerPC Mac software of the same vintage as the machine you have...
     
  12. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Oh yes!

    I used Q on my G5. Works ok for some minor tasks but don't expect any wonders.

    Virtualization on PPC is no very usable, regardless of the virtualization software you use.
     
  13. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #13
    That's because it's not virtualisation: it's emulation. Virtualisation is fast as it doesn't have to translate one CPU instructions set to another. This is hard and slow. Emulation does. If there was a PowerPC version of Windows (later than NT 3.5) and PowerPC compiled versions of the software you could use virtualisation rather than emulation...
     
  14. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #14
    i used Q and xp on my eMac and it is to say it very polite unusable on a ppc g4 then i installed windows 2000 which was a bit more usable but the main problem was
    Q only emulated a pc with ~60 !!! in words sixty mhz ok i had 1024mb ram but still more then slow

    virtualpc is better as it emulates a 686 processor with 664mhz with 16mb vram and 512mb ram , which is not fast but usable on a ppc g4 ,
    at least what i need it for ,office 2009 as i still have the windows version and virtual pc @ ebay did cost me £20 so way cheaper then the office 2009 version for mac
    and under osx tiger i only have office 2004 for mac
    but i tried youtube on virtualpc walking xp and it works ..not as good as on my iMac g3 but it works
     
  15. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #15
    So the answer is still "no" then. We are talking about non-linear video editing here. No solution save a native one will be workable and Sony Vegas is not native, in any way.
     
  16. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #16
    To sum up:

    If you have a PPC Mac (G3, G4, G5) then EMULATION is necessary to run Windows, because Windows doesn't run on PPC hardware.
    This emulation "translates" PPC code to Intel (x86) and vice versa, which takes time, which means... SLOOOOOOOWWWW.....
    Example app: Virtual PC (version 7.x for the G5)

    Experience shows that Windows 2000 Pro running on VPC 7.x runs okay.

    If you own an Intel (x86) Mac (Core Duo, Core 2 Duo, Xeon) then VIRTUALISATION is all that is needed to run Windows. As the CPU is "known" to Windows, no performance is lost because no CPU-"translation" is needed.
    Grfx cards, etc are still emulated though, therefore don't expect "native" 3D grfx performance.
    Example apps: Parallels, VMware, VirtualBox.

    All versions of Windows run very well in these virtualisation apps.
     
  17. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #17
    I tried Q and VirtualPC the other day on my G4. Windows 95 ran great, however I'm having a problem and I need to know if what I'm doing is even possible.

    I was using a PCI card at the time, but I wanted Windows to be able to flash my Nvidia AGP card. Is it possible for Windows to interface with a card that way in Q or VirtualPC? Which should I use for that? I'd like to use Windows 95 because it is light and has the DOS prompt.
     

Share This Page