How do I set-up an SSD?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by andybosik, Jul 28, 2012.

  1. andybosik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    #1
    I have a late 2008 MacBook, Intel Core2 Duo.
    I recently did a clean install of Mountain Lion using a 8Gb
    thumbdrive as a BootDrive.

    I'd like to buy an SSD to replace my slow HDD.

    Physically swapping the drives seems pretty straight-forward.

    But I've never set-up a new drive before.

    Can I just put my usb boot drive into the usb port
    and go from there? Or do I need to do anything else?
    Do I need to format the new drive?

    Thanx so-much!
     
  2. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Clone your existing install using Carbon Copy Cloner or Super Duper.
     
  3. andybosik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    #3
    Thanx

    I assume I need some type of Sata to usb cable to
    temporarily attach the new ssd drive externally and copy
    the data right? If so, where do I get that?
    Thanx!
     
  4. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Just buy the cable or enclosure from NewEgg or Amazon. They are under $10
     
  5. Swip2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    #5
    I just did this a few days ago without any major problems. The performance increase has been insane, I also upgraded the ram at the same time.

    I opted to clone my drive instead of doing a fresh install for the ease of it. I used Carbon Copy Cloner to clone my old (original) HD in my Macbook unibody over to the new SSD which was fitted temporarily into an external enclosure.

    The one I get here in Sweden was a Deltaco brand for about 10 USD, and it did the job fine. Also holds my old HD in there now as a backup.

    Once I made the physical switch, the transition was completely seamless.


    If you use Carbon Copy Cloner it will help you through the process pretty straightforwardly. You'll need to format the SSD to Mac OS Extended (Journaled) first before you do the cloning though.


    /Swip2
     
  6. andybosik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    #6
    Thanks for the info!
     
  7. loickske macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #7
    i did the same today, but when i put in the cd in the drive a i boot up from the cd rom, there is an error and i have to reboot the mac.

    does some know how to resolve the problem?
     

Share This Page