How do I set up Time Machine to backup to my wireless server?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by drnebulous, Aug 11, 2014.

  1. drnebulous macrumors regular

    drnebulous

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Location:
    Salford, UK
    #1
    Hiya,
    I have a Mac Pro mid 2012 and I have a Powermac G4 as a server.
    I can access my server etc but I don't know how to use time machine with it.

    My mac pro is running 10.9.4 and my powermac is running 10.4.11

    I have gone into time machine system preferences on my mac pro and clicked 'select disk', but I can't find my server here???
     
  2. asriznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    You are running G4 with OS X Tiger Server?
    Are you trying to backup Mac Pro on the G4? I don't think Time machine was even an option in that version of OS X server. Do you have a storage volume in the G4 you want to use for time machine?
     
  3. drnebulous thread starter macrumors regular

    drnebulous

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Location:
    Salford, UK
    #3

    Well, I do have a hard drive in the powermac g4 dedicated for my mac pro backups. I'm not running OS X server, just the regular OS X. Yes, I am trying to backup my mac pro on the powermac.

    I can still access everything on the g4 via my mac pro, but I just can't get time machine to use it?
     
  4. drnebulous thread starter macrumors regular

    drnebulous

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Location:
    Salford, UK
    #4
    Just got a sata pci card (sonnet) and the G4 now works perfectly, but I still can't get time machine to back up to it. It doesn't see it even though finder does see it.

    What is the problem?
     
  5. asriznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    What I think is because G4 is running on OS X tiger and time machine is only available from OS X Leopard or later.

    If you have a USB drive to confirm this, plug it into another mac in the network running OS X Leopard or later to test followed by connecting it to the G4.

    If it only works on the other mac then that should be the reason.
     
  6. AxoNeuron macrumors 65816

    AxoNeuron

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Location:
    The Left Coast
    #6
    Indeed, Time Machine was released with OS X 10.5 Leopard, wasn't on 10.4 Tiger.
     
  7. asriznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    I feel that way as well however he's just using the G4 as a network file storage while the Mac Pro will be the one configured with Time Machine.

    So I think some test with a portable HDD can confirm this further.
     
  8. AxoNeuron macrumors 65816

    AxoNeuron

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Location:
    The Left Coast
    #8
    Oh, I see what you mean.

    It sounds like you haven't mounted the network disk on the newer mac. To do this, click an empty spot on your desktop background. Then, in the menu bar, click "Go". Then double-click on your network drive. Enter username and password if necessary.

    Now try selecting it in time machine and see if that works.
     

Share This Page