How do I setup a network share from my iMac to Boxee?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by sneeks, Oct 6, 2008.

  1. sneeks macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #1
    I have Boxee installed and working on my ATV but cannot find it in the list of network shares. Which settings do I need configured on my iMac to get this working.

    ATV can see the iMac within the official Apple frontend of ATV.
     
  2. Shoesy macrumors 6502a

    Shoesy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK.
    #2
    You need to turn on smb sharing in the sharing pane of system preferences. (windows file sharing) not very secure bit that's how it goes at the mo. Doesn't seem to want to stay active very long for me at the moment tho.

    Hope this helps...
     
  3. sneeks thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #3
    Thanks for the reply. I have tried this but i still cannot see my mac within Boxee.
     
  4. Shoesy macrumors 6502a

    Shoesy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK.
    #4
    Must admit I'm no expert and am struggling myself at the mo, but I entered my macs ip address in manually 10.0.1.x or whatever (use about my mac if you don't know it)- this Gained me some access. Seems a bit hit and miss for me though...
     
  5. sneeks thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #5
    Nothing I have tried tonight has helped, the Mac is invisible to Boxee yet works perfectly with ATV's own software and streams my iTunes music etc.

    I'll admit defeat for tonight and try again tomorrow. Thanks for your help.
     

Share This Page