How do I specify destination folders?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by snerkler, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. snerkler macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #1
    Coming from windows when I export projects or save files I'm used to being able to specify exact destination folders, for example if I'm exporting a video I've edited of our holiday to Sharm El Sheik I can set the destination folder as follows:
    Movies > Holidays > Sharm El Sheik.

    When I try to do the same on Mac I can select Movies, but it then doesn't allow me to go any deeper into the folder tree so I have to save to Movies, then locate the file and either copy it or drag it into Holidays and then Sharm El Sheik.

    Is there any way I can specify exact destination folders on the Macbook?

    Cheers
     
  2. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #2
    Have you tried clicking the little triangle to the right of the name of the file?
     
  3. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #3
    Yeah, the mis-located triangle. It ought to be next to the folder shown, not next to the file name!
     
  4. snerkler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #4
    I've not seen a triangle. Some apps do let me specify folders, but some don't. One that doesn't is iMovie. When you go to share and select your files type it gives you a drop down box and all I can select is the main folder and not subfolders :confused:
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    Do you use the "Share" menu? And if so, what menu item in there?
    Can you make a screenshot and attach it to your next post?
     
  6. snerkler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #6
    Yeah, I'll have to do it later though as I'm rendering a video at the moment.

    By the way, have you seen my thread about iMovie finalization? ;):eek:
     
  7. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    Yes, but as I don't use iMovie, I can't help you there, I guess, especially with PS3 output. But I will take another look.
     

Share This Page