How Do I Take A Screen Shot

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by TomKease, Feb 4, 2009.

  1. TomKease macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #1
    I am having an issue with my TIME CAPSULE and I made an appt. to see a GENIUS. Since I can't take my Time Capsule with me I wanted to take a screen shot of the issue to better explain the problem

    I'm sure there is a very simple answer to this and I'm kinda embarassed to even ask.

    Thanks for your help in advance!!!

    TK
     
  2. ziggyonice macrumors 68020

    ziggyonice

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Rural America
    #2
    There are lots of different keyboard shortcuts to do this for you, but easiest way is the application called "Grab" in your Utilities folder (Applications folder > Utilities > Grab). You can also learn a lot of the shortcuts by going into the "Help" menu in the menu bar, and just type "screen shot". You'd be surprised at some of the stuff you can learn just from "Help"!
     
  3. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  4. staccato83 macrumors 6502a

    staccato83

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #4
    command+shift+3 for entire screen

    command+shift+4 for only a certain part of the screen
     
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    And that does the current window.
     
  6. gixxerredliner macrumors regular

    gixxerredliner

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #6
    Wait...

    So when you guys post those really cool screen grabs on this site, those are the command fuctions you use to actually take that screen shot?
     
  7. om3ga785 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #7
    there's also a screen shot widget you can add from Apple's widget downloads too.

    It's called Screenshot Plus 3.0
     
  8. VPrime macrumors 68000

    VPrime

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    London Ontario
    #8
    You can also use a free app called Skitch.
    It can take screenshots, do quick edits, and upload them to your account. Pretty awesome software.
     
  9. RRutter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #10
    There are tons of threads about this already..

    Mroogle before you re-post!
     
  10. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #12
    And also command+shift+4+spacebar will take a screenshot of a window. I use all of these shortcuts frequently.
     
  11. johny5 macrumors 6502a

    johny5

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    been grabbing screenshots for a while now, but it can be a nightmare searching through on your desktop. Is there any way to have the screens captured into a folder on your desktop?
     
  12. arthursiew macrumors 6502

    arthursiew

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
  13. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #15
    How much stuff do you have on your desktop? The screen shots are named 'Picture 1/2/3/etc' anyways, so it shouldn't be too hard to find.
     
  14. AlphaBoy85 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Earth.
  15. johny5 macrumors 6502a

    johny5

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    I do have a fair amount of clutter to be honest.
    For the moment i did a big clear out today and figured you cant change to save within a folder and I should be moving/renaming the grabs as I do them.
     
  16. ensgaard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    #18
    how do u scroll the window up/down & capture everything??
     
  17. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #19
    There's probably a special firefox plugin that could do that, but I don't think there's a way to do that in OS X.
     
  18. ensgaard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    #20
    noted....there should a 3rd party software can do this right?? but i still prefer using the shift+command+4+(to make it scroll the whole window)...
     
  19. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #21
    Or a standalone application called Paparazzi.

    That wouldn't really work the way you describe. Imagine taking a picture of a park with a still camera while spinning around really fast.
     

Share This Page