How do i Toggle the "fn" button?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Wraz, Jun 1, 2009.

  1. Wraz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #1
    Hello, im new here and im a little unsure where to post about my macbook, But i hope this is the place.

    Anyways, i was wondering if its possible to toggle the fn button, cause im a flash animator, and its pretty anoying that i have to hold fn down to create a new keyframe.

    Hope i get some quick replies.

    I appologise for bad english.
     
  2. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68020

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #2
    Go to System Preferences --> Keyboard and Mouse.
    Under the Keyboard tab, check "Use all F1, F2, etc. keys as standard function keys."
    That should do it.
    :)
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    [​IMG]

    System Preferences > Keyboard & Mouse > Keyboard > Use F1, F2 etc. as standard function keys.

    That way you don't have to press fn to access F6 for example.
     
  4. Wraz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #4
    Maybe i should have explained it better, i ment like a quick shortcut like

    Ctrl + k + 8 or something, so i dont have to go into the preferences.
    Thanks anyway for the quick responds
     
  5. robotica macrumors 6502a

    robotica

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    #5
    lol

    surely if you set it once thats it done? What could be easier than that?
     
  6. Chase R macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #6
    I think he was talking about a shortcut that would toggle that box "checked" or "unchecked". Which to me, doesn't really seem possible.

    Maybe write a small program that could do it??? I dunno...

    I would just leave it checked and get used to holding down the function key to do things like "screen brightness" or "play/pause".
     
  7. Wraz thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #7
    Omg thanks last post, i never thought about just holding down fn to use the brightness n stuff, i thought when i checked the box the brightness stuff and all that would turn of. Im so happy now :D
     

Share This Page