How do I "un-forget" a wifi network?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Big D Z, Dec 15, 2009.

  1. Big D Z macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #1
    At one time, I chose to "Forget this network". Now, I want it to remember it again. In order to use the network, I have to manually enter the information. If my screen locks, the network is forgotten again and I have to go back an re-enter it in.

    Is there a way I can un-forget this network?

    Also, I'd rather not have to reset network settings 'cause I don't want to have to enter all the information for my several other networks that are already saved.
     
  2. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #2
    I'm not sure if I follow. :) So you connected to a network, but then clicked the Forget This Network button and now want to reconnect? You should just be able to scan for the network, connect and enter the settings needed. The iPhone will remember your settings for that network until you click the Forget This Network button again.
     
  3. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #3
    There's something wrong with when his screen locks and he then has to reenter the network password.

    Sounds like he made need to do a restore whether he wants to or not.
     
  4. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #4
    Ah, that sounds like our guest network at the office, it has a username/password. I know the iPhone used to have trouble remembering this but not sure if that was fixed or not.
     
  5. Big D Z thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #5
    The problem is that the iPhone isn't remembering the network even after I've re-entered the settings. It uses the network until I lock the screen. After I unlock it, the network is no longer there and I have to re-enter the settings again.
     
  6. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #6
    Which iPhone are you using and what software version is it running?
     
  7. Big D Z thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #7
    3GS 3.1.2
     
  8. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #8
    Like I said a restore as new might fix it, but it's probably your wifi has gone bad. I'd take it back to the Apple Store and get a refurb, or at least have them look at it.
     
  9. dorci macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    #9
    Found A Solution!!

    I have an iPod Touch 3 with 4.1 software and I had the same problem that you described. I have endlessly tried to finetune my wifi router's settings to no avail... Then I made my iPod touch forget the network (I did this about 3 times.. 1 was not enough..) then I restarted my ipod and connected to the network again, entered the wifi pw and even when I lock the screen or turn the wifi off/on again, it now connects automatically, hooray! :D

    I hope this works for you too.
     
  10. Meltdownblitz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    #10
    I too have this problem. I actually pushed "forget this network" at my house and have tried reset network settings, even tried restarting my iPhone and still everytime I connect, I put my iPhone to sleep and I have to reconnect to my wifi. I went to a friend's house and connected, after 3 hours, it's still connected so it's not my phone. Also it's not the wifi because other members in my household are able to reconnect everytime they are near the wifi without having to enter the wifi pw again.
    However one thing I have noticed is on my friend's wifi it shows the "forget this wifi' button. On mine at home, it does not, probably from when I pushed it. So that has to be the issue and there has to be a way to fix it. Any ideas? Thank you much.
     

Share This Page