How do I unfreeze the iPod controls when plugged into car?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by bollweevil, Jan 16, 2010.

  1. bollweevil macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #1
    Short version: How do I "unfreeze" the iPod controls on an iPhone (or iPod classic) when it is plugged into an accessory? The accessory is an Alpine car stereo, though I have seen the controls freeze on boom-box type accessories too.

    Long version:
    My car has a nice aftermarket Alpine stereo with an iPod connector plug, so I can plug in my iPod and my iPhone in the glove compartment. Sadly, when the iPod/iPhone is plugged in, the screen says "accessory connected" and it doesn't allow me any access to the controls.

    This is bad. This is bad because the stereo's alphanumeric display shows only 8 characters, and the knob you turn to select things can only go about two clicks per second, meaning it takes about a million years to scroll through any list of songs or artists or playlists. If I did feel the temptation to switch songs while driving (and I'm not saying I do that, it is most often the passenger or I am at a red light) the iPod/iPhone's own controls would be much, much faster and safer than the Alpine's knob and 8-character display.

    Even more hilariously, the iPhone has frozen iPod controls (you click the iPod app and it says "accessory connected"), but everything else about the iPhone is accessible. If this was a safety feature, then 1) I would hope the new controls would be safer than the overridden and frozen controls, whereas the new controls are actually much more dangerous and distracting; and 2) It seems pretty unsafe to be able to browse the internet and use the maps app, which are both fully functional while the iPhone is plugged into the car stereo.

    So yeah, how do I unfreeze the controls? Will jailbreaking do it? Or do I need to jailbreak and then do ______? Thanks.
     
  2. Penguissimo macrumors 6502a

    Penguissimo

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    I have a JVC car stereo that does the same thing. To change it on mine, you have to change a setting in the stereo's menu (not on the iPod). For me it's something like iPod: Control and then you change it from Headunit Mode to iPod mode. After that, you can control it from the iPod, though the screen on the stereo will still show track names and such. The Kenwood units I tried out at the store had a similar option, so it's not just a JVC feature.

    What model Alpine do you have? I couldn't find anything generically Alpine on a quick Google, but try digging through your stereo's manual—I would be surprised if there wasn't a way to do it on yours. But I bet you don't have to jailbreak :)
     
  3. bollweevil thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #3
    Thank you, Penguissimo, I will most definitely investigate this option.
     
  4. sshams95 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    #4
    If you are jailbroken, download NoAccessory Splash from Cydia. Problem should be solved.
     
  5. Etnies419 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #5
    I have the same thing with my Kenwood head unit. There's a button on it for iPod Mode, which toggles between using the stereo to control the iPod and letting the iPod control itself. I would certainly check in the manual for something like that.
     

Share This Page