How do I uninstall 3rd party downloads?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by withfood, Aug 3, 2009.

1. withfood macrumors newbie

I am new to mac computers......bought a mac book pro 13 inch( 3 days ago)
    I downloaded the software for audacity, capture it, & soundboard
    .....How do i uninstall these program so they are completely removed from computer and not just sent to trash?
    Anyway to check if they have been completely removed?

Thanks
    :)

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

As there is no Registry (like in Windows) in Mac OS X, it is safe just to put the applications into the Trash.

If you still want some kind of removal tool, use AppCleaner or AppZapper (one of them is free).

Also have a look at Macintosh HD > Library > Application Support > "name of the program". You can safely remove that folder. Also have a look under Macintosh HD > Users > you > Library > Application Support > "name of the program" if there is anything left in there.

3. jzuena macrumors 6502a

jzuena

Two more places to look:

Macintosh HD > Library > Preferences
    Macintosh HD > Users > {your account} > Preferences

Look for {application}.plist files. These are the closest thing to a registry that OS X has. These plist files and the above Application Support files are what programs like AppZapper, AppCleaner and AppDelete remove.

4. wfoster macrumors 6502a

wfoster

Your best bet is using an application that has already been mentioned. AppZapper is an awesome third-party application remover and is worth every penny. I bought it a while ago and can't live without it.

5. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

AppZapper costs $12.95. It performs a task is that is not necessary. The user can manually perform this unnecessary task in less than 30 seconds. All in all, an interesting definition of the phrase worth every penny.

6. nyte3k macrumors member

nyte3k

True. If that's the case, then there is AppCleaner as someone mentioned earlier, which is free.