How do I upgrade/clone my Hard Drive?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Kardashian, Feb 14, 2009.

  1. Kardashian macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #1
    I have a Unibody MBP with a 250GB internal drive.

    I have 2 external drives, in enclosures I cannot open:

    1. My iTunes Library
    2. Blank/Empty

    I want to buy a 500GB drive to put inside the MBP.

    How do I clone that drive onto a new internal one?

    Would I need to clone my internal drive onto the second blank external Hard Drive, remove my internal, add the new 500GB, and then clone it back onto the internal (after booting off the external)

    Totally confused :confused:
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    Everything you said was correct. :) I suggest using superduper or the carbon copy cloner they both work great.
     
  3. Kardashian thread starter macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #3
    Oh, OK :rolleyes:

    So:

    1. Connect blank 500GB external
    2. Use Carbon Copy Cloner/Super Duper, clone internal to blank external
    3. Insert new 500GB HD into MBP
    4. Boot up from the External (how?)
    5. Clone the external onto the internal

    Done? :)

    Which program would you/others advise over the 2? I want reliability and simplicity.
     
  4. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #4

    When using either one of the backup programs you need to make sure to check the option that says "create bootable backup" and just to test it, hold c when booting up your computer with the external connected and select it to boot from. If it works, then power down the mac and swap out the hard drives and boot from the external and use migration assistant to transfer all of your settings/data.

    I used CCC because it is free. :) Also I like how you did that list, I didn't know it could be done that way.
     
  5. Kardashian thread starter macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #5
    How do I use Migration Assistant to clone the hard drive?

    I want everything the same, desktops, program settings, all the little fiddly stuff I've modded on my OS (themes etc).

    I want it exactly cloned, so that when I boot up from the internal, my desktop hasn't changed. It's the 'same' computer.
    We've both learnt something new today :)
     
  6. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #6
    Migration assistant only transfers the data to the new drive.

    it will be exactly like your current computer once transferred don't worry.

    Also I think I made a mistake. I looked it up on google, and I think you boot from the external by holding down option/alt instead of c. :eek:

    There are lots of guides online how to do this too. I followed one of them to learn how.
     
  7. Kardashian thread starter macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #7
    Wicked.

    So, I won't even be able to tell I'm running everything on a 'new' hard drive?

    I was just worried it would set me up as a New OSX user, and just put all my 'old' stuff in a file on the desktop or something.
     
  8. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #8
    Nope it will be an exact clone. It will have all the user/settings/apps/everything. The only difference you will be able to notice is that the hard drive is much much bigger. :D
     
  9. Kardashian thread starter macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #9
    Ah thanks so much. Big love to you :)

    Do I just need a 2.5" internal SATA drive?

    (eBaying as we speak...)
     
  10. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #10
    Should be it. I think that's what I bought. I'd google it just make sure though.
     
  11. Kardashian thread starter macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #11
    OK, so I've just opened Migration Assistant to try and get a rough idea of the process.

    There's only 3 options to, and only 1 to "copy" your data to somewhere else, and it has to be to another Mac. Not to a stand-alone internal hard drive.

    I'm completely confused about what I do with the disk image, after its been cloned onto my external.

    What guide did you follow? The ones I'm finding on Google are from 2004<.

    Thanks muchly :eek:
     
  12. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #12
    http://www.kenstone.net/fcp_homepage/partitioning_tiger.html

    Follow the instruction here, but only select 1 partition. Then use migration assistant.
     
  13. Kardashian thread starter macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #13
    I still don't understand what I use in Migration Assistant?

    There's only 3 options: the only one that will copy information from my external hard drive (the clone), and thats only to another Mac - not internal hard drive.

    My internal hard drive will be blank, so I won't be able to boot from it and use Migration Assistant copy information from the external (Migration Assistant, option 2)
     
  14. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #14
    You boot from the external, format the internal drive, and then select the cloned drive and the new drive as the destination. It will all be there when you have the new drive installed.
     
  15. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #15
    No disrespect intended toward jmann4489's use of the Migration Assistant, but I would seriously suggest you do yourself a favor and go back to the plan you mentioned above for simplicity and the ability to test the validity of your backup etc. Not everything gets transferred using the Migration Assistant in actuality- you can note some of the exceptions in the the Apple document here regarding Migration Assistant FAQ's. This was written for 10.4 but the exceptions still apply to 10.5 as it was never intended to be a true "cloning" program as you desire.

    There are a couple of steps left out of your original process list, so I will copy it and add those steps and you will wind up with an exact duplicate of your current hard drive with no resetting or reinstallation required, ok?

    1. Connect blank 500Gb external
    -----1a. Make sure it has been formatted as Mac OS Extended with a GUID
    -----Partition map (**) if it is still PC formatted as purchased. If not
    -----formatted correctly for Mac use, the cloning programs will not work.

    2. Use Carbon Copy Cloner to clone internal to blank external.
    -----2a. When done, test clone by restarting and pressing and holding
    -----"Option" after the startup chime until a screen appears that will show
    -----all bootable devices attached to your system. Click on the external
    -----drive name and press "Enter" to boot from the clone. It will be
    -----identical to your internal drive, so play around with it until you are
    -----satisfied that is, then shut down the system.

    3. Install new 500Gb HD into MBP
    -----3a. Boot up from clone again with Option. Use Disk Utility on it to set
    -----up the new 500Gb internal drive with Mac OS Extended with GUID
    -----partition map (**). (The blank drive will come with a PC format). Quit
    -----Disk Utility

    4. --eliminate-- you are already booted to the external

    5. Run Carbon Copy Cloner and clone external to new internal.

    Finally, do a normal restart and system should restart from the internal drive again automatically. If by chance (not likely) it boots again from the external, go into "System Preferences", then into the "Startup Disk" pane, choose your internal drive and click "Restart".

    Sit back and enjoy your new larger drive whose contents are identical with the original internal!:D

    (**) If you need a quickie guide to formatting the drives and assuring that they have the GUID partition map scheme that is essential in this use, just ask!
     
  16. TXBDan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #16
    I must be retarded...

    1) Why do you copy TO the 500GB HD twice? In my thinking i would:

    A) Install 500GB external via USB
    B) Clone internal (old) HD to external (new) HD.
    C) Put external 500GB (new) HD into the macbook
    D) Boot up on the internal 500GB (new) HD and youre done.

    no?

    2) Can Carbon Copy clone your boot camp partition as well?

    3) Can't Disk Utility clone the HD as well? Why Carbon Copy?
     
  17. NavySEAL6 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    #17
    Can you just install the new drive, put a fresh OSX install on it, and reload everything from a time machine drive?
     

Share This Page