How do I upgrade new 1.0.2 to 1.1.1 without activation?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by eVolcre, Nov 4, 2007.

  1. eVolcre macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #1
    I thought I was being smart by ordering a phone right when the firmware changed. Well, now its here, its 1.0.2 and the iphonesimfree and the jailbreak website require the phone to be at 1.1.1 :eek:

    Do I just open it, connect it to itunes and it gets upgraded automatically? I even resisted upgrading to the latest itunes, by getting a disk image of 7.4 manually so it wouldn't upgrade me. Now it appears that I do need to upgrade it.

    I promise, this is the last question on the topic. I'm going to pay the 60 bucks for that tool once i get it to 1.1.1
     
  2. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #2
    ATTENTION HALT STOP

    Don't use iphonesimfree. IPSF overwrites the RSA token, and unless you backup your seczone and this token before applying IPSF your token will be lost forever. so STAY AWAY FROM IPSF.

    Use anySIM 1.1.1. iNdepedence 1.3beta now includes automatic anySIM installation.

    If you have any further questions, don't hesitate to ask.
     
  3. eVolcre thread starter macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #3
    1. *bangs head on desk*

    2. *repeat*

    3. *go back to step 1*

    Thanks for the info, instead of asking stupid questions, i'll take your advice, do some research and if I'm stuck, then come and post here. Cool?

    eV

    (i don't even know what a RSA token is. )

    PS. One question, sorry, does independence include that jailbreak thing or do I first jailbreak, then go do the independence/anysim technique. And what is the best jailbreak method?
     
  4. joshysquashy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    iNdependence does everything - activation, jailbreak, ssh, anysim, application installation etc.

    just make sure you read the iNdependence help, it explains what steps to take, it is easier as you have 1.0.2, if you had 1.1.1 you have to downgrade before you can upgrade unlocked!!!
     
  5. eVolcre thread starter macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #5
    This is the best news I have heard all day! Now I'm going to go research ONE thing, independence, and will come back with questions

    *rubs head from all the banging*
    eV
     
  6. eVolcre thread starter macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #6

    Is this tutorial still valid even for independence 1.3?

    http://modmyifone.com/wiki/index.php/IPhone_unlock_OS_X_Part_1
     
  7. eVolcre thread starter macrumors 65816

    eVolcre

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    #7
    Actually, I answered that last question myself. (left it up so you can see i'm actually doing my HW :) )

    Downloaded the independence software and it is fairly straightfroward with the inbuilt documentation.

    But, here's a question. My phone is a 1.0.2. I downloaded the old itunes dmg 7.4 so it won't upgrade me to 1.1.1 automatically. Do I still have to do this step? (it's in the "activate" portion of the doc)

     
  8. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #8
    I'm confused. I have 1.0.2 with Installer 3.0 & apps. Is my phone already jailbroke? I'm confused as to what to do here. I have the software (iNdependence non-beta) on my mac.... I would like to go to 1.1.1 and at least at some point (when I figure it out) - re-hack it. I do not have an AT&T sim. I have NO SIM (fake activated with another AT&T sim).
     
  9. spinstorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #9
    I used IPSF as when I did mine there was no other way to FIX a phone unlocked with iunlock.

    I have to be honest it makes upgrading so much easier!

    As no matter how many times I go from 1.0.2 to 1.1.1 it STAYS unlocked!

    Of course we don't know if IPSF kept a copy of my token so potentially at any point should Apple change the way they flash the baseband (or whatever the technical term is) then I may be stuck with 1.1.1 permanently!

    We will see what happens with 1.1.2 on Friday I guess!

    And so maybe it would be worth holding off until 1.1.2 is cracked - IF - it is.

    Right now it seems to be only regional european settings but who really knows until Apple releases it so maybe its worth waiting to see.

    Having said that if you decided to use IPSF its easy to upgrade, specially with Independence... though I would get the latest version obviously!

    First of all you have to upgrade to 1.1.1.

    You WON'T be able to activate it and you are in effect bricking the phone but thats the only way to get the new baseband on the phone!

    Then downgrade to 1.0.2 - use DFU mode in Independence and make sure you have your 1.0.2 firmware on your mac and select it using "shift" (or whatever the mac equivalent is) when you click on restore in iTunes.

    It will take your phone back to 1.0.2 but you will get an error at the end, prob 1014 or 13 - dont worry.

    Just plug Independence in and click on Jailbreak, then activate using independence and install SSH on Independence.

    You will need to get installer on your phone again to use IPSF - I guess using iBrickr is the best way, then install BSD subsystem (BTW it may be that independence installs BSD subsystem with SSH - I don't remmeber so have a look) using installer AND THEN use IPSF to unlock the 04.01.13_G baseband.

    You can get IPSF in installer if you click the edit sources and add the link on the IPSF website.

    Then click on "pre 1.1.1" tab on independence and upgrade to 1.1.1 in itunes.

    Then JB/activate/install SSH in independence in 1.1.1 and your done!

    Having said that I think I would wait and see what happens with 1.1.2 if I was you.

    If you decide to virginise your phone then I assume you do that bit BEFORE you upgrade to 1.1.1. I guess you could then use jailbreakme.com to JB/activate but some people do have problems on that site and I don't want you to quote me on this part as I have NOT tried it!

    Independence does have a few issues, namely it DOES NOT patch the springboard for more than 16 apps... so if you use independence you will have to use Summerboard (I think) to get more than 16 apps on there.

    Good luck!
     

Share This Page