How do I use External Monitor ONLY in Windows?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by OnTrack Studios, Apr 24, 2008.

  1. OnTrack Studios macrumors regular

    OnTrack Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #1
    I know how to run an external monitor only on OS X:

    (put Mac to sleep/close lid/plug in external/hit keyboard)

    but when I try to do that when I boot up in XP, the MacBook Pro's display runs even when it's shut and I'm forced to have a mirrored display.

    Any ideas?!! Thank you!
     
  2. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #2
    It's a setting under the graphics control panel. Do you have ATI or Nvidia.
     
  3. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    Either Windows doesn't support it or the drivers Apple gives for the graphics chipsets don't, but either way I've found no way to make that work. I looked around in the Display options to no avail.

    It's frustrating!

    At the end of the day I blame Windows for being stupid and try to use it as little as possible. :p

    EDIT: aaronw, if you can point out where this is I'd be thankful. I haven't been able to find it. I have the MBP with the ATI X1600 Mobility (and I'm running Vista Ultimate 32-bit).
     
  4. OnTrack Studios thread starter macrumors regular

    OnTrack Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #4
    ATI Radeon X1600

    its not that big a deal really. im down to only 3 windows only apps so I'm slowly making the transition to a Mac only work flow so it shouldn't be too long before it's a non issue for me. I just figured I'd throw the question out there. I appreciate the help!!
     

Share This Page