How do I use my phone in Australia?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by AztecKing, May 1, 2011.

  1. AztecKing macrumors member

    AztecKing

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    #1
    I'm going to Australia soon for six months and then coming back to the US for a month and then back to Australia for another six months and then repeat that for another year and wondered if it's possible to use my phone?

    Jeff
     
  2. eastercat, May 2, 2011
    Last edited: May 6, 2011

    eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #2
    If you have an unlockable bb, you can software unlock it. Go to jailbreakmatrix.com. It lists which bb are unlockable and which are not.
    However, I can tell you that if you've upgraded to the latest iOS without precautions, you're probably out of luck.
     
  3. AztecKing thread starter macrumors member

    AztecKing

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    #3
    Excuse my ignorance but what is a bb? Do I need to jailbreak it and unlock it both?
     
  4. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #4
    BB-baseband. This is the modem and determines if you can unlock or not.
    You have to JB and unlock the phone to use a sim card in Australia. However, if you don't have an unlockable bb, you can't unlock.
    *if you have a verizon phone, my advice isn't usable. Verizon is crap in foreign countries.
     
  5. AztecKing thread starter macrumors member

    AztecKing

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southern Oregon

Share This Page