How do Install lion on a 2006 macminiWith core 2 duo?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by MacHaris, Jun 23, 2013.

  1. MacHaris macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Location:
    UnicornIsland
    #1
    I upgraded my 2006 MacMini with an intel core 2 duo chip, and 2gb of ram. So i was wondering now that I have the specs required for lion do i just install the disk ?
    Help...
    :confused::confused::confused:
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    why not just see what Apple says for the specifications :confused:
    System Specs

    Based on the above you can. If you're on Snow Leopard just go to the app store and purchase Lion (You need SL because of the apps store)
     
  3. MacHaris thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Location:
    UnicornIsland
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    OSX 10.6 Snow Leopard.
     
  5. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #5
    Actually you can't just download it. The problem is that your motherboard has a signal on it that tells Lion that you are using a 1,1 (even using the 1,1 to 2,1 flash still won't allow Lion to be directly installed). What you have to Do is get anotherac and use target disk mode to install Lion on to your mini from the other Mac (one that can run Lion). I've done it. It's a bit of a round about way to do it, but it works. To be honest tho, Lion was a bit of Apple's Vista (although not That bad), so one of my upgraded 1,1's I reinstalled Snow Leopard and am much happier with it compared to my Lion 1,1.
     
  6. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #6
    I'd like to do the same thing as tho OP, but with a 2006 iMac. Already installed the C2D processor and flashed the iMac to 5,1 (so it'll handle more RAM) but I do want Lion, for UI consistency and iCloud integration.

    My other Macs all have Mountain Lion on them (2011 iMac and 2012 Mini). I have the .dmg installer for Lion, and also the download code from the App Store.

    My question is, can I use one of my ML macs to perform this target installation? Or does it need to be another Mac running Lion?
     
  7. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #7
    As long as the Mac can run Lion (so your 2011 should be a great candidate). You'll need a FireWire cable (a 800 to 400) to string between the mini and iMac?
     
  8. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #8
    I have a cable ordered. Actually a 400-400 cable but I have an 800-400 adapter already.

    I'm a little confused as to the process though. I found this article discussing installing via target-disk mode:

    http://osxdaily.com/2011/07/13/install-mac-os-x-lion-target-disk-mode/

    From the look of it, I'd create a partition on my 2011 iMac and put the Lion installer on that partition. I'd start the 2011 iMac in TDM booting from that partition. Then I'd boot up the 2006 iMac from the remote partition, and run the installer. So I think that this method must not be what I'm looking for, because it would really be no different than installing locally (i.e. the installer would be "Running" on the 2006 Mac, so it would still refuse to install).

    So I gather that I should be starting the 2006 in Target mode - connecting it to the 2011 - and running the installer on the 2011. I guess I still need a Lion partition on the 2011 iMac... then boot to that I suppose, and run the installer targeting the 2006 remote disk??
     
  9. MacHaris thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Location:
    UnicornIsland
    #9
    Can you please tell me how to go from 1,1 to 2,1?
     
  10. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #10
  11. MacHaris thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Location:
    UnicornIsland
    #11
  12. FreakinEurekan, Jun 23, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2013

    FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #12
    Least I could do, after hijacking your thread ;)

    BTW I also found a guide here that seems to be working. Scroll down to the summary post on June 23rd. I did not use a USB disk; I just created an 8GB partition on my hard drive for the installer partition - modified as described - booted to it - and installer is now running. Fingers crossed :p

    Edit: Success!!

    Now, don't suppose anyone has two 2GB DDR2 SODIMMs that they'd trade for two 2GB DDR3 SODIMMs??
     

    Attached Files:

  13. MacHaris thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Location:
    UnicornIsland
    #13
    Nice
     
  14. MacHaris thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Location:
    UnicornIsland
    #14
    How do I install mountain lion on 06 macmini?

    How do I install mountain lion on 06 macmini?
     
  15. comatory macrumors 6502a

    comatory

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #15
    2GB for Lion is horrible. been there, tried it... its really slow. on the other with 4GBs it runs good.
     
  16. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #16
    I know of no way to do Mountain Lion. Just Lion, using the method I linked above. In my research I found a few posts about people who tried to get ML running but none that fully succeeded (eg video problems, some missing features, etc). Lion's running great for me.
     
  17. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #17
    You can't. Mt Lion does not have drivers for the Intel 950 GPU in the 1,1 and 2,1 Mac Mini's.
     
  18. Jambalaya macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    I have 10.7 Lion on my 2009 mini and it runs poorly with 2GB which is why I started a thread about upgrading the machine and RAM
     

Share This Page