How do make my Mini into external FTP server?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by shadman, Dec 1, 2009.

  1. shadman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #1
    I want to make use of my Mac Mini remotely and have done good so far installing VPN server and Web Interface for Transmission, but I need to do an FTP server as well, with full access. Using the built-in FTP server works internally on my network, but it won't connect outside the network, trying a multitude of different settings. I even have a no-ip for it.

    I've tried some 3rd party applications and searched alot but havn't had success. any suggestions?
     
  2. zachsilvey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    Battle Ground
    #2
    You have to make sure that you are port forwarding the FTP port to the mini. The standard FTP port is 21. Find the internal ip of the mac mini and forward port 21 to it (if you don't know how to port forward search on google and there are many great tutorials for your specific router). When you connect to the external ip of the network with a ftp client the router forwards the connection strait to the mini instead of blocking it. Keep in mind that if you have a dynamic ip it will change from time to time so you might consider using dyndns.com. Plus your ISP might block you from serving port 21 because they don't want servers on consumer internet connections.
     
  3. shadman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #3
    Alright, found out I originally had it disabled in the router, needed to check the 'enabled' button :eek: but now it works as much as I can tell. Now what is a 3rd party program I can use to make users for this? Maybe set up bandwidth limits or something too. Willing to spend the money, show me what you got.

    EDIT: Well I can get people to do ftp://<user>@<ip address> and then a propt asks for user and password, it can be entered but past that nothing will load. It just keeps saying loading but nothing happens. Is there a was I can host from a different port?
     
  4. zachsilvey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    Battle Ground
    #4
    I have had an issue with logging into a ftp account that has a space in the user name. What I did was just set up a new user in OS X called ftpuser and logged in as that. You could also use SSH to transfer files using SFTP not FTP. SSH can be enabled in the remote management settings in OS X.
     
  5. shadman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #5
    Well that seems a little inconvenient. Looks like I'll need a 3rd party program.

    I don't see anything in the Remote Management about SSH. Using OSX 10.5.8

    Or is there another form of file transfer remotely I could do? Other than FTP and SFTP?
     
  6. telecomm macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
  7. zachsilvey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    Battle Ground
    #7
    Sorry, it is actually "Remote Login"
     
  8. shadman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #8
    I tried using the FTPd before, but didn't succeed. This manager is great though! Perfect, except I still cant connect. Trying to figure out this port stuff. I've forwarded ports before but now its bothering me.

    Connection refused every time I try, but it doesn't display anything in the Server logs of PureFTPd. So I figured ports aren't forwarded, so I tried putting my computer in the DMZ zone of my router. No ports I search for on canyouseeme.org work either, even ports I have forwarded in or out of DMZ zone. I tried going into the Mac's firewall settings and adding an allow to the PureFTPd manager, but nothing.Connection refused, even when I tell it to allow ALL incoming connections.

    Help?
     
  9. telecomm macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
    #9
    I didn't have these problems when setting up FTP access myself, so I'm not sure what to suggest. (Maybe there is a problem with your ISP blocking ports?)

    You may have better luck getting help if you post this question in the Mac OS X Server sub-forum.
     

Share This Page