How do one adjust button settings for Logitech MX518?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Ramius, Sep 6, 2010.

  1. Ramius macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #1
    I just started using my Logitech MX518 with my Macbook.
    It works with scrolling, and right-left clicking, and cursor sensitivity.

    But the other buttons are retarded. When I click down the scrollwheel, I get the OSX Dashboard up. And when I use the Back button, I get exposé. How do I adjust these buttons to do what I want?

    Im used to clicking down the scroolwheel for a new pane in web browsing.
     
  2. Blow up tre1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #2
    Software...

    Ok, well your out of luck if your wanting a fix from apple... you have a choice of assigning those buttons to expose, spaces, dashboard, etc...
    Otherwise download a driver for your mouse IF THERE IS ONE...probably not... :mad:
    Then get annoyed, download steermouse or usboverdrive and then get annoyed at their bad, but at least useful, interfaces... Oh and these won't work if you have LCC installed, which I do :(
    ----------------------------------- end reading here if bored :confused:

    So I'm stuck with having button 4 for expose, which is ironically what I was wanting it for anyway :D Well at least in Finder, I can set different stuff in the games I play :)
    In other words Mac=bad OS for mice... that's why so many people with macs install windows on them just to game... No support from companies-limited support from razer... Not to mention the un-usual way the accel and other ways the pointers are controlled work...
    That's ALL I don't like about macs... everything else I just LOVE :cool:
     
  3. snipes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    I've been using Steermouse with my MX518 for years now and quite happy with it. Don't bother installing the Logitech software for your mouse. Grab Steermouse or USB Overdrive.
     
  4. Ramius thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #4
    But steermouse costs money? I dont want to pay money for a mouse app lol.

    But is there no way to change the button functions on the mouse for free?
     
  5. Thunderbird macrumors 6502a

    Thunderbird

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    #5
    I'm trying to get the buttons on my Logitech MX518 to go 'forward' and 'backward' on webpages. e.g. In Windows, I would just thumb click the 'back' button on my mouse (instead of cursor click the 'back' button in the browser), and it would go to the previous webpage. On a Mac, when I thumb click the 'back' button on my Logitech mouse, nothing happens.

    So is this not possible in Safari?

    Edit: never mind. I downloaded Steermouse and that brought back that function.
     
  6. Ramius thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #6
    Hey that wasnt bad.
    I fixed it with Steermouse too. But the website told me it was shareware, yet no info about any pricing or trials at all. Does it cost money or not?
     
  7. snipes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    Not sure what site you got it from, but the developers site lists it as $20 USD.

    http://plentycom.jp/en/steermouse/index.html

    It says 30 day trial, but I don't recall if it actually timed out. I was happy to have my mouse working again so I paid for it. I think USB Overdrive is about the same price.
     
  8. Ramius thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
  9. snipes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    You are right, but it doesn't look like the Apple download site shows the price of any shareware. If you follow the Company link from the Apple download page you end up on the page I linked earlier and can find the price.

    Happy t hear it works. It is too bad that Logitech can't write a decent driver for their own devices.
     
  10. Ramius thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #10
    Yeah Logitech obviously only cares about quantity and not quality.
    Several devices I have from them no longer works because they have not updated drivers. And they always overcomplicate the software to their equipment, so you need dem durd drivers.

    But will Steermouse tell me I need to pay all of the sudden then?
    Cause there is no "Buy Now" button, nothing within the program itself. So far it seems free!
     

Share This Page