iPhone How do providers know if you use tetherme or mywi?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Iphone4sinwhite, Feb 9, 2013.

  1. Iphone4sinwhite macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    #1
    How do providers know if you use tetherme or mywi? Do they only know if you have tethering available in the settings menu such as on Verizon or AT&T?
     
  2. asdf12312 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #2
    They go by the APN.

    Most people install tetherme and leave the defaults APN settings.
    The default settings for ATT are "phone" for internet and "broadband" for tethering.

    If you enable tethering, it will connect to the broadband one and ATT will know you are tethering. In the tetherme settings, you can change the APN for the tethering from broadband to the same one as regular internet, phone. Then, you should be OK.

    My 0.02
     
  3. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #3
    There are several post asking that same question with lots of very in depth technical responses.

    Has something to do with packets, im sure others will layout the details. Bottom line they will know if they look hard enough.
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    There may be other ways as well.

    One speculated way is the TTL (Time To Live). Tethering has a different TTL than data originating on the phone. This hasn't been confirmed, as the carriers aren't going to let people know how they know.
     
  5. aPple nErd macrumors 68030

    aPple nErd

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Jailbreaks/IOS Hacks
    #5
    Should I change apn for tetherme? iPhone 5 2gb plan LTE...
     
  6. la79 macrumors regular

    la79

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    #6
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    We dont know for sure.
    Sometimes they just hit customers with high data usage even though they didnt tether before. So they're not that consistent either.
     

Share This Page