How do you add a word to the prediction dictionary?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by DDustiNN, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. DDustiNN macrumors 65816

    DDustiNN

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    #1
    If I type an unknown word, it gets underlined in red, indicating that it's a misspelled or unknown word. If I click on the word, I'm given some auto-correct options, none of which I want. But I don't see anything that will let me save the word for future use. How do I do that? My Android phone did it automatically, and I thought I read that you could do it on the iPhone too...
     
  2. patp Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #2
    i don't believe you can. With my old Balckberry you could actually create your own dictionary and key combinations. I would tks and Thanks, would appear. Stuff like that I do miss.
     
  3. kardiackeith macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_6 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8E200 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Go to notes and type the word in 6 times.
     
  4. DDustiNN thread starter macrumors 65816

    DDustiNN

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    #4
    You know... I thought you were just being a smart-ass, but that actually worked, lol... Thanks! :D
     
  5. Rajani Isa macrumors 65816

    Rajani Isa

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    #5
    It's a learning dictionary. Thus it requires several typings of the word, but it does learn.
     
  6. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #6
    My phone must be an old dog. It can't even remember my last name.
     
  7. vincenz macrumors 601

    vincenz

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #7
    iPhones will start using us instead of the other way around soon.
     
  8. Confuzzeled23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #8
    Yes, it is a learning dictionary. However, am I the only one that has spelled "the", "tge" so many times that it no longer corrects itself to "the" anymore? I always have to tap it and change it to "the", or every now and then I need to reset my predictive text dictionary.
    Very annoying :(
     

Share This Page