How do you add content blockers to Chrome and Firefox?

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by kat.hayes, May 24, 2017.

  1. kat.hayes macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #1
    Can content blockers and other extensions be added to Chrome and Firefox?

    Thanks.
     
  2. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #2
    Not really the same ones that are there for Safari or ones that are separately added for other browsers. There are some essentially system-wide content blockers, like Adguard Pro, which can block ads in apps, including third party browsers.
     
  3. kat.hayes thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #3
    Are extensions available at all for Chrome and Firefox in iOS?
     
  4. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #4
    No.
     
  5. Lawzen macrumors member

    Lawzen

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    #5
    As mentioned using Adguard Pro would block ads in Firefox and Chrome. I personally use Adblock by Futuremind and had no issues with blocking in Firefox or Chrome.
    Opera Mini has a built in blocker, but I found it didn't block everything. Still worked quite well though.
     
  6. Tech198 macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #6
    I use uBlock Origin in Firefox... I don't mind ads in Chrome.. because i hardly ever use it
     
  7. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #7
    That's in iOS?
     
  8. Lawzen macrumors member

    Lawzen

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    #8
    OP is asking regarding iOS. However, uBlock Origin is a very nice ad blocker, I use it too :rolleyes:
     
  9. ericwn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    #9
    I have been using Adguard Pro for a while now and am satisfied with the results.
     
  10. ipos macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    #10
    Ad Guards pro does it work only on safari or on other browsers too?
     
  11. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #11
    The Pro version works with all browsers and apps. It sets up sort of a fake VPN all traffic gets routed through so it can be filtered.
     
  12. ipos macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
  13. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #13
    I don't use the Pro version, so can't say. I only use the Safari content blocker version and I don't notice any slowdown with that at all.
     

Share This Page