How Do You Boot From Another MAchine??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Graceful585, Jun 1, 2009.

  1. Graceful585 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #1
    Ok...I'm not real technical, some have suggested I remove my hard drive and replace it with a new one to protect my data until I get my logic board replaced. I don't have all the tools and knowledge to do this. :( I emailed I ResQ and asked how I can back up my files/photos when I can't get on my machine. They responded and said the following:

    You could try and boot it from a different machine. Try searching http://www.apple.com/support
    Thanks and good luck

    I tried to search but didn't come up with anything...does anyone know to boot it from another machine, does it have to be a MAC? How do you go about doing this? Sorry...my abilities are a bit limited as far as a MAC goes. :)
     
  2. MWPULSE macrumors 6502a

    MWPULSE

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #2
    if you still have the machine in your personal possesion then you can boot from target disk mode. Connect up your mac with a firewire cable, to your machine which your backing up to. then turn on the first machine, turn on the second machine (the one that needs backing up), pressing and holding the letter t on the keyboard as you do.

    Then you should be able to access your internal HD from the computer.. It only works with Mac, not too sure on the possibilities if its not a mac that you have. could take the HD out and put it in, but thats quite complex. so each to their own i guess :D

    Hope that helps

    PTP
     
  3. Graceful585 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #3
    Thanks...I only have MAC that needs the logic board and not another MAC to do this with. :(
     
  4. Benguitar Guest

    Benguitar

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #4
    I've always booted up things by connecting via FireWire, restarting and holding down the option button until I get the Apple logo and spinning gear. :confused:


    So I guess you could try that?
     
  5. Graceful585 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #5
    I have a Canon camera and it sounds like the Firewire is what I use to get the photos from the camera to the MAC...would that be a right assumption??

    Dumb question coming...can I hook up the firewire cable to my MAC and a PC??? I need to ask cause I don't think you can but what do I know...LOL!! If I can then I can transfer pics from my MAC to a PC????

    Sorry if these are really stupid questions, I'm asking because I really do not want to do anything stupid...LOL! :)
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Okay, not knowing why you need to replace your motherboard, I would have to assume the worst which means you can't use the computer at all and it doesn't boot…

    That means your can't boot from another computer because in order to do that, your computer needs to be turned on (and if the motherboard is broken, you can't turn it on).

    And best case scenario, your computer does turn on, you need another Mac and connect it to your computer via firewire; USB will not work. Then hold T on your computer during the start-up and then you should be able to access the drive on the other machine (again this assumes you can turn on your computer at all). Yes the other computer needs to be a Mac as well.

    Now that said, if you can't start your computer up at all or you can, but don't have another machine to work with, then you have only one solution, and that is to swap out the HDD. Not knowing which MacBook Pro you have, I can't provide a definitely instruction…

    If you have a "classic" MacBook Pro, which means you bought it before October 2008, then the instructions are this: http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Repair/...-A1226-and-A1260-Hard-Drive-Replacement/670/1

    Otherwise, if you have the "unibody" MacBook Pro, just removed the battery cover, unscrew the one screw holding the HDD in place and then disconnect the SATA cable.

    Always remember, to use the correct screwdriver and make sure you keep track of the screws. Don't skimp and think you can make do with another sized screwdriver because you may strip the screw head and then you have a lot more issues to deal with.
     
  7. Graceful585 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #7
    Alphod...You're right, I don't have another MAC and the one that I do have boots up to the Gray Screen that tells me to restart my computer and that's all I get. It sounds like I have to change the Hard Drive like you mentioned. My MBP is a 17" 2.4 Ghz Intel Duo (Santa Rosa)/2 GB/ 256MB/ VRAM/160GB 5400 rpm, Model A1229. Where do I get the Hard Drive, does it have to come through Apple? Can I order it online? Best place to do that? Also where do I get the tools I need to repair it, Home Depot?

    I appreciate your patience and responses and are the directions you listed above going to work for my model?

    Thanks so much!!!! :)
     

Share This Page