How do you calculate your GPA?!?!

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by techlover828, Jan 23, 2008.

1. techlover828 macrumors 68020

techlover828

I've seen so many different things online. Our school's grading is like this
    A+ 99-100
    A 95-98
    A- 93-94
    B+ 91-92
    B 87-90
    B- 85-86
    C+ 83-85
    C 79-82
    etc....

so, how do I calculate my GPA? I don't know any scale or anything but I'm a sophomore and am starting to look at college books with average gpa's etc. so i need to figure out how to calculate it.

Also, anyone have any wise words on how to motivate myself to get better grades, I definitely need better ones.

2. shecky Guest

shecky

translate those numbers into these points like so:

A = 4
    A- = 3.7
    B+ = 3.3
    B = 3
    B- = 2.7
    C+ = 2.3
    C = 2
    C- = 1.7
    D+ = 1.3
    D = 1
    D- = 0.7
    F = 0

3. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

techlover828

but don't different schools use different grade ranges? so how do they keep it constant?

4. shecky Guest

shecky

thats the standard for North American schools as far as i know. its how i grade my students.

5. kylecib123 macrumors newbie

6. ErikCLDR macrumors 68000

My school has the worst GPA system ever

Freshman year it was out of 4.0 but it was impossible to actually achieve a 4.0 even if you got a 100 in every class.

Now its out of 6.25, somehow you still cannot achieve a perfect 6.25 and now AP, Honors, and Academic classes are all equally weighted.

It makes no sense and I have no idea how they calculate it.

7. devilot Moderator emeritus

devilot

Some just use flat A- A A+ = 4.0

And some schools calculate weighted GPAs for the students enrolled in AP and Honors classes (As= 5.0, etc.).

8. bjett92 macrumors 6502a

Yeah our school does A's and A+'s are 4.0 in regular classes. But honors classes are 4.7 and ap classes are 5.0

9. mactastic macrumors 68040

mactastic