How do you change LAN settings on a mac?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Mr M5, Jun 5, 2011.

  1. Mr M5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    #1
    My office doesn't have wi fi and I have trying to move away from using my PC to my mac at work. In order to connect to our LAN on my PC I would open up IE9 and change the auto detect to off and type in the proxy server address.

    When I try to do this with Chrome, there are a ton of proxy options how do I know which one to use?
     
  2. hwojtek macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #2
    System preferences -> Ethernet -> Advanced -> Proxies.

    It's basics, man. Google first, before you start asking such embarrassing questions.
     
  3. bpeeps macrumors 68020

    bpeeps

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    #3
    I was going to comment similarly, but I think they're asking which proxy to use (i.e., Auto Proxy Discovery, Automatic Proxy Config, Web Proxy, etc).

    But a Google would still probably answer this question.
     
  4. Mr M5 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    #4
    Yeah I got that; that's not my question though.

    I have all the following as options:

    Auto Proxy discover
    Automatic Proxy configuration
    Web Proxy
    Secure web Proxy (https)
    FTP Proxy
    Socks Proxy
    Streaming Proxy (RTSP)
    Gopher Proxy

    Then a box for "exclude simple hostnames"

    And bypass proxy settings for these host & Domains.


    So my question is where do i enter what I"m used to entering in IE9?
     
  5. bpeeps macrumors 68020

    bpeeps

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    #5
    http://www.ehow.com/how-does_4927970_setting-up-proxy-server-mac.html

    GOOGLE, bro...
     
  6. Macsavvytech macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #6
  7. Mr M5 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    #7
    I have googled, but I think you guys are still missing the point. All I have is two items, the proxy name and the port. I'm being asked for tons of other info, so how do I get it to the point where I only have to plug in two sets of info like i'm used to? Or where do I get the rest of the info?:cool:
     
  8. bigjobby macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    Off the top of my head, copy the settings you have from your IE9 and copy them over to your web proxy settings. You may also want to do the same for the other protocols but this may depend on how your work infrastructure is set up.
     
  9. SAVAGE5 macrumors member

    SAVAGE5

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    #9
    Don't listen to them, google is not your friend. Bing it.
     
  10. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    You most likely want "Web Proxy (HTTP)". If you click Advanced (or something to that effect) in IE, you'll see the different protocols in there and can match them up, but you probably need HTTP.
     
  11. Hanako87 macrumors newbie

    Hanako87

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    #11
    Just so ya'll know I asked this same question but concerning my iMAC and google brought me to this page. So maybe you could try helping the guy out before assuming he didn't already google his question. Ya know?
     
  12. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #12
    No offense, but it's been four years since the last post. OP has either figured it out by now or done something else. ;)
     
  13. dbradpc6320 macrumors newbie

    dbradpc6320

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Location:
    midwest
    #13
    With all due respect, despite the passing of four years time, my search on Google provided this page/topic/thread/link as the number 2 (second in the list IOW) result when searching for results like iMac + WebProxy + network + System Preferences + Mac OS + Advanced settings. Jus saying, it's not our fault that google sent us here, so please do try to cut us a break guys. We simply search for truths. TY in advance for your future compassion and restraint regarding queries here and elsewhere on the inter webs.
     
  14. girkygirl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2017
    #14
    I thought these forums were supposed to helpful, not rude. You sir, are rude.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 19, 2017 ---
    I agree about google. They are sketchy A.F. now.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 19, 2017 ---
    Well said. I just flat out told him he's rude.
     

Share This Page