How do you change the login wallpaper in Snow Leopard?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by loft3, Sep 3, 2009.

  1. loft3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    #1
    Anyone know how you change the login screen wallpaper in SL? It's different that in Leopard and can't figure out how to do it!
     
  2. allan.nyholm macrumors 6502a

    allan.nyholm

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    #2
    How about this path? delete defaultdesktop.jpg and drag a new one in with the same name.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. RMXO macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    #3
    http://osxdaily.com/2007/02/22/customize-the-mac-os-x-login-screen/

    You've to scroll all the way to the bottom of /System/Library/CoreServices to see DefaultDesktop.jpg. I tested it out to verify its location.
     
  4. HE15MAN macrumors 6502a

    HE15MAN

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Location:
    Florida's Treasure Coast
    #4
    Very cool, didn't know you could change this..any screenshots?
     
  5. soms macrumors 6502

    soms

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    I had mine different in Leopard and just changed up SL as well. Couldn't stand the bright background, so now I have it all black. Looks much better.
     
  6. boston04and07 macrumors 65816

    boston04and07

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #6
    Is there any way to change the password screen (not the login screen) background from being just black? And by password screen I mean the one you reenter your password into after being away, when you've already been logged in to your account.
     
  7. RobT macrumors 6502a

    RobT

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
  8. Buzz Bumble Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    That will be a security feature so that unauthorised people can't even see what is on your screen. I doubt you can change it.
     
  9. bcrguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Location:
    Burlington Ontario Canada
    #9
    works perfectly..

    no when your at that login screen it wont allow you to take a screenshot using the standard command shift 3.. you would need to find a way around that..
     
  10. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #10
    I changed it with Visage. The good thing about Visage is you can change a lot of other things as well:D Look it up on Google, you can download it.
     
  11. bcrguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Location:
    Burlington Ontario Canada
    #11
    i think what he meant was make it look like the login screen when you wake it.. and i am curious about this to i would like it to go to the login screen (while keeping my applications running) when i close my laptop or wake it up..
     
  12. nano8blazex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    #12
  13. Arrandale macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    #13
    +1 exactly what i wanted to say but in fewer words
     
  14. svenwillmann macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #14

    In addition you can change the img files in
    /System/Library/CoreServices/SecurityAgentPlugins/loginwindow.bundle/Contents/Resources
    Just stick to the same size
     

    Attached Files:

  15. natewsmith macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
  16. Signal-11 macrumors 65816

    Signal-11

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    2nd Star to the Right
    #16
  17. eckndu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #17
    help, I first did this in onyx, but it doesnt work, the login screen now dont have any wallpaper, just plan blue background. then I did it manually, restart, but it is still blue background, what do I do??
     
  18. beast260 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #18
    im having the same problem. someone help:(
     
  19. beast260 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #19
    also, how did u guys make the icon 90x90. i dont know how to do that
     
  20. classcsilk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Location:
    monacco
    #20
    having the same problemmm here. entered a command on terminal but i think that was for leopard so it lead to this problem...ahhh someone help
     
  21. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #21
    The size must be 2560x1600. Although, it might be the 8/5 ratio that matters; I'm not sure. I had that issue until I changed it to 2560x1600 and then it worked fine.
     

Share This Page