How do you check to see if you're in 64-bit mode?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Boesky, Nov 4, 2009.

  1. Boesky macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #1
    I pressed the 6 and 4 buttons when booting up, but I am not sure if it loaded into 64-bit mode. It did take significantly longer to boot up though... isn't 64-bit supposed to be faster?
     
  2. benlangdon macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
  3. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #3
    System Profiler --> Software --> 64-bit Kernel and Extensions:

    Yes or No.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Boesky thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #4
    everything says yes, but this time when i booted up, i didnt hold down 6 and 4
     
  5. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #5
    Apparently I've been booting into 64 bit this whole time since I did it just to check it out. :confused:
     
  6. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    Check /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.boot.plist

    For:

    Code:
    <key>Kernel Flags</key>
    <string>arch=x86_64</string>
     
  7. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #7
    Mine says

    <key>Kernel Flags</key>
    <string></string>
     
  8. benlangdon macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #8
    ugh...
    my computer can run 64 bit, i checked when i downloaded snow leopard.

    but it says no.
    ummm...
     
  9. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    I prefer using the terminal command uname -a to determined if I booted my MBP in K64
     
  10. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #10
    From what i have read out there in the internet land only machines with core 2 duo processors are able to run the 64bit kernel Core duo systems are not.

    SL does not activate support for 64 bit out of the box unless your using a xserve. i had to download a program to make the setting for me.
     
  11. *LTD* macrumors G4

    *LTD*

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
  12. Advil macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #12
    i just installed that utility and started to boot up in 64 bit mode. what is the advantage of this? i've been installing 64 bit applications when available, will they be more responsive now or something?
     

Share This Page