How do you downgrade iTunes without losing information?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by SRLMJ23, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. SRLMJ23 macrumors 65816

    SRLMJ23

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    I have the 10.5 beta installed but it is seriously having issues on my particular machine (Windows 7)....how do I revert back to the non-beta iTunes version without losing my information and what not?
     
  2. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #2
    No information is stored in the application. You should be able to just un-install the program and then download and install the version you want. All your data is stored in a different place. (Somewhere in 'My Documents' in Windows, I think.)

    That should be it!*



    * Of course, as with ANY computer advice I hope you have everything backed up. I'm telling you how it should work.
     
  3. Vundu macrumors 65816

    Vundu

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #3
    Yep just uninstall and re-install the older version.

    All your stuff will be there when you launch iTunes again as if nothing has happened.
     
  4. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #4
    Agreed.

    Uninstall iTunes and then you should be able to install an older version of it again.

    As mentioned here, make sure you have your library backed up just in case.
     
  5. SRLMJ23 thread starter macrumors 65816

    SRLMJ23

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    Well it didn't work because it said that my "iTunes Music Folder" was unavailable because it was created by a newer version of iTunes. So I had to go back to iTunes 10.5.

    I really hope they don't wait until the fall to release iTunes 10.5 because it is buggy on my system.
     
  6. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #6
    What inspired you to install beta software in the first place?
     
  7. SRLMJ23 thread starter macrumors 65816

    SRLMJ23

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    I was going to install the iOS 5 beta but i got an error involving that. Apple Dev support can't even help me out with it, I'm like the only person with the problem.
     
  8. richxps macrumors 65816

    richxps

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #8
    can you restore it using a time machine backup ?
     
  9. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #9
    Windows doesn't have time machine.
     
  10. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #10
    It worked for me.

    I installed 10.5 beta in Windows, but iTunes wouldn't start up after the installation was complete.

    I installed 10.2.2 and it worked fine (10.3 wasn't out at that point).
     
  11. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #11
    Probably because all iOS developers are running OSX. You've stated in previous posts you're on Windows 7 so you can't really be an iOS developer. Best advice just wait till 5 is released to the public in the Fall.
     
  12. EspressoLove macrumors 6502

    EspressoLove

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #12
    I should point out that it probably only worked because it didn't even start on you.
    I'm speculating here though - haven't used Windows in a long time :rolleyes:
     
  13. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #13
    That would make sense.

    iTunes does the "Updating Library" thing the first time it starts after an update.
     

Share This Page