How do you get am/pm in the menu bar?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Manic Mouse, Jun 6, 2007.

  1. Manic Mouse macrumors 6502a

    Manic Mouse

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    #1
    OK, so I have my first Mac and everything is going fairly smoothly. Except the fact I can't get am/pm to show in the menu bar. The option is grayed out and I have no idea how to get it to work!

    Any help would be much appreciated. :D
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Take a screenshot of the Time & Date pane and post it here, because it sounds like there's a conflicting option in there, such as Analogue Clock.
     
  3. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #3
    You don't have it ticked for 24hr clock do you?

    Ok, scratch that idea, mine is the same, I just thought it was because I have it displaying 24hr
     
  4. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #4
    Also the formats panel in the International settings could be conflicting with your Date & Time ones.
     
  5. Manic Mouse thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Manic Mouse

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    #5
    How do I take screenshots in OSX?

    I don't have "24 clock" checked so that shouldn't be the problem.

    (Thanks for the help guys)
     
  6. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #6
    Use the Grab tool in your Utilities folder (get to that from the Go menu) :)
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    Is Analogue Clock ticked? You can take a screenshot by holding COMMAND-SHIFT-3 at the same time. An image file should appear on your Desktop. :)
     
  8. AdeFowler macrumors 68020

    AdeFowler

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #8
  9. Manic Mouse thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Manic Mouse

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    #9
    Wow, grab is pretty darn cool!

    Here are my clock and date/time sections...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    EDIT: International formats added
     
  10. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #10
    Can you post the International Formats page too?
     
  11. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #11
    i don't know what's going on. but when something funny happens i can't explain, i like to play around with the buttons. i would try clicking on the "view as analog" button and then clicking on the "view as digital" button. maybe that'll get the "show am/pm" option not to be gray. if that doesn't work, maybe a restart will do the trick. sorry if this advice doesn't help. :eek:
     
  12. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #12
    in the international section, under that formats tab, click the Customize… button next to the Times section, then pick Show: Medium from its little menu. Can we see that format?

    (If the AM/PM blue blob is missing from that line, you will get the grayed out checkbox under the time prefs as you've described)

    If it is missing, you can simply grab the PM blob from the well up to the white text field, and then Date and Time should behave.
     
  13. Manic Mouse thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Manic Mouse

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    #13
    It is there :confused:

    Hmm, seems I'm destined to never have am/pm in my menu bar...

    EDIT: Actually, I changed it in short, medium and long and now it works! Thank you so much!
     
  14. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #14
    Just making sure: that's under the Medium format? That's the only one that matters for the menu clock.
     

Share This Page