How do you guys view internships?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by dontwalkhand, Dec 11, 2011.

1. dontwalkhand, Dec 11, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2011

dontwalkhand macrumors 601

dontwalkhand

I am an IT consultant, and did work for a law firm here in Arizona. And they had me setup a station for the intern, which I did as I was told, etc.

Now this UNPAID intern was doing real work, for no money, but he is getting college credit I believe. I heard that once the intern is done, they will not have plans for him to stay on the firm as a paying employee, he will just be done, and sent packing. Instead, I believe they will just pick up another unpaid intern and continue this sad trend.

Now, there was a point in time when getting an internship would eventually land you a job, but now it seems like in 2011, it is just a way for companies to get free labor...with no plans of even fully hiring the intern. This kind of behavior disgusts me, and makes people not even want to bother with internships.

It used to be that 75% of unpaid interns get hired, and now it seems that the number keeps dwindling and dwindling.

2. mobilehaathi macrumors G3

mobilehaathi

Unfortunately, this seems like it is becoming more and more common. That and internships where the intern has to pay!

Of course, there are still "real" internships out there, but it seems the noise to signal ratio is growing...

3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

r.j.s

I think they are a good way for the intern to get experience. As long as the company doesn't lead the intern into thinking they will definitely get a job at the end, then there is nothing wrong.

4. peapody macrumors 68040

peapody

Unfortunately, having just the word 'internship' on the resume is worth it being unpaid sometimes. I know some pharmacy students got summer internships at a top medical facility for no pay but simply having that household name on the curriculum vitae helps in securing jobs down the line.