How do you hide running app icons from the dock leaving just minimised windows? Pics

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by mattoligy, Mar 17, 2015.

  1. mattoligy macrumors 6502

    mattoligy

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Location:
    Cloud 9
    #1
    I am relatively new to OS X and I want my dock to only contain running app windows! This is how far I have got so far...

    [​IMG]

    I worked out how to remove the Finder icon and the Trash icon and make the background translucent but after four hours of googling, looking at various scripts and advanced things like that I have not been able to find a global solution to hide the running app icons!

    There is a hack way to remove them on a per app basis put it messes lots of things up such as the menubar :/ I just can't believe there is not an option for this in the dock preferences or even a third party app...

    If there are any super smart OS X users out there I would really appreciate a hand here...

    Hope you get what i'm trying to achieve :)
     
  2. AlliFlowers Contributor

    AlliFlowers

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    L.A. (Lower Alabama)
    #2
    I'm confused as to why you want to do it. If an app is running and there is no icon...how are you going to return to it?
     
  3. dyt1983, Mar 17, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #3
    edit: To remove personally identifying information not relevant to the thread.
     
  4. mattoligy thread starter macrumors 6502

    mattoligy

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Location:
    Cloud 9
    #4
    If an app in running in the background (minimised) it will show as a thumbnail window in the dock and if it is running in the foreground or maximised on the desktop while you're in a fullscreen app etc it will show on Mission Control!

    I want the dock to just be "running app windows" area!

    That app is based off the hacky way of doing it that causes lots of problems, or so i've read...
     
  5. dyt1983, Mar 17, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #5
    edit: To remove personally identifying information not relevant to the thread.
     
  6. mattoligy thread starter macrumors 6502

    mattoligy

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Location:
    Cloud 9
    #6
    1] I don't want to loose apps corresponding menubar

    2] I don't want to have to do this for every single app individually

    There must be an app that offers this option as a global solution... This is a full desktop os, so far i'm feeling it's not a very powerful one being that it's impossible to achieve something that should be so simple :confused:
     
  7. Ritsuka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #7
    It's a full desktop os meant to work in a very specific way. The behaviour you want is the exact opposite of the way mac os x is meant to work. It's not a surprise the built-in software isn't programmed to do what you want. :rolleyes:
     
  8. capuzino macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    One workaround for this would be to leave the running app-area there instead of the windows area. It would be done just by hiding the running apps (cmd+H) instead of minimizing them. Probably the biggest downside with this is that hiding hides all the windows of specific apps.
     
  9. mattoligy thread starter macrumors 6502

    mattoligy

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Location:
    Cloud 9
    #9
    So there's not a script or a mod that will achieve this? On Windows you can change everything with one tool or another you can theme the **** out of it! I can't believe OS X is this weak, seriously there has to be a way :eek:
     
  10. dyt1983, Mar 17, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #10
    edit: To remove personally identifying information not relevant to the thread.
     
  11. TETENAL macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    #11
    Applications can be running without any windows open.

    How would you return to iTunes (playing music for example) but without any open windows?

    This isn't Windows, and the Dock isn't the task bar.
     
  12. dyt1983, Mar 17, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #12
    edit: To remove personally identifying information not relevant to the thread.
     
  13. Artimus12 macrumors 6502a

    Artimus12

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    YooKay
    #13
    I'm not entirely sure what effect you're after here, but have you tried cDock? I see an option to "show only active applications"???
     

    Attached Files:

  14. mattoligy thread starter macrumors 6502

    mattoligy

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Location:
    Cloud 9
    #14
    Tried this already, but thanks for your reply...

    Probably the best advice I have received so far :p

    Still within my two weeks so...
     
  15. AlliFlowers Contributor

    AlliFlowers

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    L.A. (Lower Alabama)
    #15


    You're right. I'm still a basic Mac novice, although I've been using one for three years now.
     
  16. adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #16
    My desktop:
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page